(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Current on Phone Line?

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member Ramjet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2

    Default Current on Phone Line?

    I'm a homeowner with limited electrical skills, but I have added phone lines in my homes in the past. In the house I own now, I get a very strong shock from one of the four wires in my telephone line. The current is present in the line before it enters the house and is constant (i.e., not present just during ringing).

    The line runs underground from a telephone utility box near the street -- is it possible it's crossing a buried electrical wire and picking up current there? Is there any way this could be considered normal?

    Any advice would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,390

    Default

    Phone lines have voltage on them all the time, and when ringing, there's more. If you've ever had the chance to look at a telephone company's office, you'd see huge banks of batteries.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member Ramjet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks for the reply.

    I understand about the constant voltage. In researching this question before posting, I found a number of people who were shocked by a phone line because they handled it when the phone happened to ring and the voltage was higher, but didn't have any problem handling the line when the phone was in its normal state. My point was that my problem line provides a strong shock at any time (I hate to think what it would be like while ringing).

  4. #4
    DIY Member Lightwave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    98

    Default

    It's not normal and could be a fire hazard. Call the phone company.

  5. #5
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,390

    Default

    DC voltage, unless from high voltage, doesn't usually get noticed. If there is high a/c voltage there, you'd notice, and that isn't normally there unless it is sending the ring signal. High current in either a/c or dc can be dangerous.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  6. #6

    Default

    Phone line voltage is approx 48 volts. Ring voltage is approximately 96 volts. It sounds like you have more than 48 volts so I'd make a call to the phone company and get it checked out.

    -rick

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •