HOW TO PROPERLY Turn on your Sprinkler System

Users who are viewing this thread

greenbaypackersfan

Reaction score
Hi folks,
I moved into a house with existing sprinkler system. It has 6 zones and the house is roughly 5 years old. I believe the owner have the system installed when the house was first built, and last year when we bought the house, the system had already been turned on (we bought the house in August.)

I had a company to winterized the system for me. Now it is Spring, I plan on turned the system on fairly soon but want your advice first before I turn it on myself. I noticed the pipes outside where the sprinkler system sits has 2 screws hat is perpendicular. Do I need to turn that on horizontal before I turn the main valve on in my basement? Or it is ok to not touch that?

I want to properly turn on the system and prevent any blow outs of the sprinkler heads or the pipes. I am new to this so a step by step instruction is greatly appreciated!

I find this site very helpful and any insight will be carefully learned

thanks

JH

Fireguy97

Irrigation Contractor
Reaction score
I noticed the pipes outside where the sprinkler system sits has 2 screws hat is perpendicular. Do I need to turn that on horizontal before I turn the main valve on in my basement? Or it is ok to not touch that?
Can you post pictures? I've been a full time Irrigation Contractor for eight years now, and am not totally sure about what you are talking about. Is this on the incoming water supply to the irrigation system or valve box? (green box in the ground)? Are the 'screws' shut-offs? If they are, and if they have handle, this is called a ball valve. The ball valve handle is on the same plane as the shut off. If the handle is perpendicular to the pipe, the valve is off. Turn that valve off before you turn the basement water on.