Shower handle stem broken.

Users who are viewing this thread

Marksavage

Reaction score
My shower's handle broke today and I couldn't get the water to stop. So I shut off the water main and tried to remove everything that was with the handle, for replacement. I ran into a little problem. The stem that comes off the handle is broken and the other half is stuck inside the wall. (pictures explain this better).

This is what my faucet supposed to look like. It is a Moen.

In the white hole is where the stem end is stuck.

Broken stem on handle.

Last edited by a moderator:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
If I had to guess (and I'm not a pro), I'd guess it was a Moen. they can be a bear to pull out. I couldn't tell for sure, but did you have and remove a U-shaped clip first? It's what technically holds the cartridge in. The brass ones are particularly hard to get out after they get gunked up with mineral deposits - you literally have to shear the ring of minerals off the shell since there's so little clearance to get it out. Some people, if they have the time, spritz some strong vinegar on it, which after time will disolve the mineral deposits. Maybe some CLR. Search on stuck Moen cartridges...there's lots of threads that discuss methods to get it out.

If you need to turn the main back on, you might want to call a plumber. There are tools that are supposed to help to pull it out. Some are a joke. And, if you use the tool and it breaks off inside, it is even worse to remove things.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
That is a moen positemp. You have a mess on your hands. If you can get a moen removal tool at a hardware store, use it to aid in turning the white bar that you see. Once it turns, it is loosened up, and use whatever tool you can to get a hold and pull it out.,

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com