Another grounding question...

Users who are viewing this thread

Gdog

write diagnostic firmware for embedded industrial
Reaction score
Got a 1000 sq ft house that was built before grounding was std (1940s I'm guessing) and according to info I got (via grapevine) if you don't rewire the whole house then just add GFIC to all the outlets to be (relatively) "safe". This has been done.

But a few of the outlets (suspect these were added later but before i bought the house) are actually grounded; someone ran a separate ground wire under the house (on a crawl) and clamped it to the cold water pipe. As far as I knew that was good (can you tell I'm not a pro electrician?).

But last weekend I happened to be in the local technical bookstore with time to kill so I'm looking through the NEC book in the grounding section. I think i read that attaching ground wire to the water pipe is not enough; that you still need a ground rod in addition to the water pipe ground. Is that correct for my situation?

Thanks for your help!

JWelectric

Electrical Contractor/Instructor
Reaction score
The equipment grounding conductor is useless unless it is properly bonded at the service. Just connecting it to a water pipe and or a ground rod does absolutely nothing.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
IN the old days, before plastic water piping, the ground was clamped to the water lines, and the external underground water supply pipe became the ground rod. Now, with plastic water pipes, dielectric unions, and other "breaks" there is no way to insure the integrity and/or continuity of the water lines, so a ground rod is essential. Many of our panel boxes are labled, "Nonmetallic water pipe" so that no one accidentally removes the connection to the ground rod.

Drick

In the Trades
Reaction score
Hi,

JW is right the ground wire connected from an outlet to the water pipe does absolutely nothing.