(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 15 of 40

Thread: Is there any way to tell a water softeners capacity by tank size?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member jonjonbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Bastrop, TX (near Austin)
    Posts
    23

    Default Is there any way to tell a water softeners capacity by tank size?

    Hello group,
    I have a twin tank softener which was made by "pure-tel" and I have no original paperwork on it. It has two tall chrome tanks with a Fleck 9000 valve on the top. This was in a rental house I had in Las Vegas and removed it when I sold the house and brought it to Texas where it's now installed in my home. It has been running here for five years but it occurred to me that it's probably set way higher than what I need as the water in Vegas is much harder than out here. I have the manual for the valve which I downloaded but the procedure is pretty complicated (at least the part with the pins in the back but maybe that doesn't need setting?), but it appears the first thing I need to know is the unit's capacity. I seem to think I read somewhere this has to do with how much media is installed? The only label on the thing is the manufacture label, with no part number, specs or anything. Is there any way to find out, or figure out what the capacity of this thing is? I have no idea even how old it is. I am using potassium instead of salt and two adults. Also is it possible to upgrade my existing Fleck 9000 mechanical timer to one of the electronic timers? If so what would I need, do they make a kit?

    Thanks for any pointers,

    John
    PS this is my water quality according to my water coop:
    (this is ground water supplied from several wells, not reclaimed or surface water if that even matters)
    Total Hardness = 39.5 milligrams/liter (mg/L) or 2.3 grains per gallon
    Calcium = 8.15 mg/L
    Iron = 0.025 mg/L
    Magnesium = 4.65 mg/L
    Sodium = 222 mg/L
    pH = 7.9 Standard Units
    Total Alkalinity = 357 mg/L
    Chloride = 66mg/L
    Sulfate = 83 mg/L
    Total Dissolved Solids = 620 mg/L
    Aqua maintains an approximately 1.5 to 3.0 mg/L free chlorine residual in the distribution system for disinfection purposes.

    On a side note, my parents have an older Kinetico water softener they might give me, it's been out of service for about ten years so don't know what it would take to put it back. I know they paid a huge amount of money for it when they bought it new in Florida. Not sure what model it is but the tanks are tan, not black. Would it being stored for that long destroy it?

  2. #2
    DIY Senior Member Bob999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    448

    Default

    Capacity of a softener is determined by the amount of resin and the salt dose used for regeneration. You can usually determine the amount of resin by the size of the resin tank--a 9 x 48 tank is typically used for 1 cubic foot of resin.

    So what size tanks are used--there should be a model number on the tank that includes the size.

  3. #3
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,471

    Default

    A twin,,,,
    Bob999 is right, size of the tanks are needed.. if there are no covers on the media tanks some place on the tanks there is a label of the size of the tank or take out a tape and messure the tank across and height of tank.

    It is possible to change from the timer that you have to the SXT that Fleck has changed to.

    I have changed 2510 from the type of control that you have to the sxt control, so YES it can be done, not that hard.

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member jonjonbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Bastrop, TX (near Austin)
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Akpsdvan View Post
    A twin,,,,
    Bob999 is right, size of the tanks are needed.. if there are no covers on the media tanks some place on the tanks there is a label of the size of the tank or take out a tape and messure the tank across and height of tank.

    It is possible to change from the timer that you have to the SXT that Fleck has changed to.

    I have changed 2510 from the type of control that you have to the sxt control, so YES it can be done, not that hard.
    I am pretty sure mine have covers as the media tanks look chrome, or more likely stainless steel. I will look it over more closely when I get home for any markings, and if not post the measures.
    On the timer, where might one find these parts? Looking at the parts list it appears the valves and power head are the same, just the timer and harness, mounts, and of course the water meter are different. Was hoping they might sell a "timer upgrade kit" or something like that.

    I will post my finding a bit later,
    Thanks for the help guys,
    John

  5. #5
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,471

    Default

    That cover that is around your tanks is right up on the tank, there is little to NO room between it an the tank.. maybe a 1/4" between the two.

    There are a number of items that are the same on the 9000,9100 and 9500 ..
    9000 and 9100 are the same save for the valve bodies one is metal and the other is plastic..
    Then there is the Elect.. 120v or 24v...
    The SE or SXT comes in handy when the gallons that the unit could treat is more than the meter that is on your unit right now... the SE or SXT does not have really an upper limit like your current timer...of 2100 gallons.

  6. #6
    DIY Senior Member Bob999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    448

    Default

    While it may be possible to upgrade the timer it may not be cost effective. I suspect that buying an electronic timer as a separate item plus what ever parts are needed for the change over will cost about as much as a complete new head. If the old timer is working then it is relatively easy to change the programming on it--it is a matter of moving pins on the timer wheel that is exposed when the cable is unplugged fromthe meter and the timer is swung out.

    There are some who prefer the electromechanical timers as being more reliable than electronic timers.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •