Leaking drain in fiberglass shower

Users who are viewing this thread

gjunkie

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a novice getting involved with a lot of plumbing projects in my first house. This forum is turning out to be an invaluable resource. Thanks for your efforts here!

My latest issue: The ABS pipe literally fell out of the bottom of the shower the other day. It looks like it was sealed to the fitting with a putty of some kind (oakum?). I purchased another drain fitting, and I am getting ready to try removing the existing fitting. Access is limited, but this does appear to be a two-piece assembly (I think i feel threads below the collar on the outside).

I read some other threads about ways to remove these things -- cutting notches and pounding with chisels. That sounds like a risky thing to do in a FG shower. Is there a tool made for this, or is there a specific "right" way to proceed?

Thanks again for your time

Chris

Attachments

• IMG_0204..jpg
    IMG_0204..jpg
    51.4 KB · Views: 1,478

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
You see those two lugs at 180-degrees? Normally, they are supposed to help you grab the clamping ring and unscrew it. They may even make a tool that fits over that like a socket, but I've not seen one.

gjunkie

Reaction score
Thanks, that helps. At least now I know I am SUPPOSED to be able to remove it. I did not want to find that out after trying for 4 hours. :) There is not enough access to get a wrench near those lugs; I will try making a tool.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
Use a hammer and chisel or long screwdriver, and "drift" the nut using the two bars. Someone will probably have to hold the drain part in the shower to keep it from turning. But do you really have to remove it. Unless it is leaking around the drain, or the drain's finish has tarnished you should not have to do it.

gjunkie

Reaction score