Can I relocate the pump on my whirlpool tub?

Users who are viewing this thread

chumbley

Reaction score
I'm doing a master bath remodel, and purchased a Kohler 1337-CN whirlpool spa. I built the tub deck according to the documentation Kohler had - and I assumed (my first mistake) that "custom pump location" meant that I got to decide where the pump goes. Not so. Custom pump location to Kohler means they put it in a different place than it normally goes. Problem is, that doesn't work for me...

So, can I just cut the lines and extend them to where I want the pump to be? (about 4' away from where it is now). I assume I want to keep the suction line slightly elevated to the pump so that it will drain, but not so much that it has trouble pulling a suction to get things started. Anything else I need to be concerned with?

Also, the air intakes on this tub are too close to the rim to allow the tub deck to work. Again, just PVC, so I know I can move them, anything to be aware of here? Do they need to be higher than, say, the overflow or anything?

And finally, they conveniently put the air start switch on the far side of the tub. I can easily move that - but will have a hold in the tub. Any idea where I can get white acrylic fillers?

Thanks so much!

Jeff

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
I think if you want to have a chance of keeping a warranty, you should ask Kohler.

chumbley

Reaction score
Yes, I do intend to do that. Ideally, they will have an answer for me.

But just in case, I'm also looking for other paths, and what will and will not work. Unfortunately, I've had the tub for a few months now, so I'm doubtful that I could return it. I think no warranty is better than no tub. I just haven't ever worked with whirlpool tubs much (some experience with general plumbing, pools, etc.), so I don't know how touchy these things are.

Jeff

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score