Variable Speed/Flow pumps and energy usage

Users who are viewing this thread

bartman99

Reaction score
Hi,

A bit of a noob here and I have been reading and searching this forum for an answer. Sorry if this has been addressed already.

Anyway, I understand from reading here the potential inherent problems with the reliability and longevity of using a variable speed/flow submersible pump (like the Grundfos SQE). What i don't understand is the claim that they do not or can not save energy.

Could someone please explain this? Is this based on ROI (and the high initial cost of the pump and the potential for frequent replacements) or are they not energy efficient at baseline? If not, why?

Thanks,
BM99

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
People who sell variable speed pump systems want you to think they save energy. In reality anytime you vary the speed of the pump, it uses more energy per gallon produced.

Example;
1 HP pump at full speed puts out 10 GPM and pulls a full 1 HP load, which is 10 gallons per horse power.

When slowing down the RPM, the amps will drop by 50%. This is why so many people think, and can make you believe, they are saving energy. However, when slowed to 50% load, the pump is only moving 1 GPM, and using ½ HP load. That is only 2 gallons per horse power, or 500% more energy used when varying the speed of the pump.

So there is NO return on investment. I could write volumes on how much extra it will cost to replace these expensive SQE systems every 5 years or less, compared to a less expensive standard type pump that should last 20 years. People who sell SQE pumps make a lot of money because, people who buy SQE pumps spend a lot of money.

bartman99

Reaction score