(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: Kenmore water softner: Water going in drain pipe continuously

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    15

    Default Kenmore water softner: Water going in drain pipe continuously

    Hi.

    I have a Kenmore water softner Ultrasoft 425. Suddenly the water started going in drainpipe and does not stop even when i unplug the softner. I have tp do water bypass to stop the water from going to drain pipe. Also, when i try to turn on the softner the machine shows err1.

    Can anyone help solving the problem.

    Thanks in advance,
    Gagan

  2. #2
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gagan View Post
    Hi.

    I have a Kenmore water softner Ultrasoft 425. Suddenly the water started going in drainpipe and does not stop even when i unplug the softner. I have tp do water bypass to stop the water from going to drain pipe. Also, when i try to turn on the softner the machine shows err1.

    Can anyone help solving the problem.

    Thanks in advance,
    Gagan
    Sounds like it is hung in a cleaning cycle.

    Unplugging the softener will not change where the valve is at, thus if it is in backwash that is where it will stay.

    You got the ERR 1 when you plugged it back in?

    Have you tried to push the regen button and hold to get the system to cycle?
    Last edited by Akpsdvan; 01-10-2010 at 11:58 PM.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Hi Akpsdvan,

    Thanks for replying. Yes, i got err1 after plugging back the machine. I have to keep it unplugged and have to do water bypass otherwise the water keeps going in drain pipe. What can i do to fix the problem?

    Gagan

  4. #4
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    If you push the Reg Now button will the unit go into a cycle?

    Do you have the book for the unit?

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I will try that today evening and will let you know.

    Thanks
    Gagan

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Hi,

    I tried the "Recharge now" option and that did not solve the problem. The machine did not go into a cycle and after a while it showed "Err1"

    Gagan

  7. #7
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gagan View Post
    Hi,

    I tried the "Recharge now" option and that did not solve the problem. The machine did not go into a cycle and after a while it showed "Err1"

    Gagan
    Sorry that I did not get back to you sooner, was on a service call most of the day, 2.5 hours of driving and 2 on site,,, joys of an Iron filter...

    Pull the cover off the unit, look at the silver wheel with the teeth, there are letters on it and there is white plastic that forms an arrow.. what letter is lined up with that?

    Make sure that the male/female wire contacts are good and fully on the male spade.

    It is possible that the motor that turns that metal wheel with the teeth is dead.. age of the unit? any photos of the unit with the cover off?

  8. #8

    Default

    Error code 1 is normally the motor or micro switch. Check the micro switch to see if the tab is broken. If so, it's best to replace the rotor seal as well as the micro switch.

  9. #9
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Hi Akpsdvan,

    Sorry for the late response. Could not get the pictures yesterday.

    I tried looking for the arrow you had asked for, but could not locate it. I have taken some pictures and am attaching those. Hopefully that will help.

    I have some more pictures. Will attach them with another message.

    Gagan
    Attached Images Attached Images      

  10. #10
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    15

    Default

    More pictures.
    Attached Images Attached Images      

  11. #11
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Last set attached.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  12. #12
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    15

    Default

    @Skip Wolverton

    I already got the switch from Sears and changed that. It did not help.

    Have also tried this: http://www.kenmorewater.com/website/.../ts_index.html But no luck

    Gagan

  13. #13
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    If you look at the silver wheel, you see the BW letters? they look to be lined up with the areo that I speek of, with that motor off, turn that silver wheel clock wise to where the S lines up with the plastic part that the BW is now lined up with.

    When you have that done you should be able to carefully put the bypass piston back into service .. check to see if water continues to flow to the drain.

    When that is done, push and hold the recharge button and see if the motor works, if the motor does not turn or work then it is time for the motor to be replaced.

  14. #14
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Will try it today evening and will let you know how it goes.

    Thanks for helping out with this.

    Gagan

  15. #15
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    Not a problem.
    I will check in later, I need to get out and take care of some items and see some people.

    But right now I would have to say that the Motor is the most likely trouble child.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •