(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Above Range Microwaves

  1. #1
    DoD Army bjferri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    148

    Question Above Range Microwaves

    What height (or standard) should the outlet be for the above range microwave?
    Brian

  2. #2
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Between 6' and 6'-8", but what matters most is the upper cabinet position. The receptacle should go in the mid-to-lower right corner inside the upper cabinet above the unit.
    Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.

  3. #3
    DoD Army bjferri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Thanks Speedy,

    Any tips? I heard it is very cumbersome to install the microwave. I bought a recessed electrical box so when I plug it in the microwave doesn't have to sit awsay from the wall. Why does the box have to go in the cabinet? I thought they both will be seperate...thanks.
    Brian

  4. #4
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bjferri View Post
    Thanks Speedy,

    Any tips? I heard it is very cumbersome to install the microwave. I bought a recessed electrical box so when I plug it in the microwave doesn't have to sit awsay from the wall. Why does the box have to go in the cabinet? I thought they both will be seperate...thanks.

    do you want to take down the microwave in order to unplug it?

    The code requires the disconnect to be Readily Accessible and mounted behind the micro is not Readily Accessible

  5. #5
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,632

    Default microwave

    Where is the cord attached to the microwave? Usually on the top so it can go into the cabinet, rather than have to snake, or be coiled, behind it. And since most have a mounting plate that fastens to the wall, it would cover any outlet behind the microwave unit.

  6. #6
    Electrical Contractor Jim Port's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    156

    Default

    A mounting bracket covers the entire back of the microwave. There is no place to install a receptacle behind the unit. It goes in the cabinet above the unit.

  7. #7
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    The cord comes off the top. It passes through a hole drilled in the cabinet bottom plate, using the included template for location.

    It is a little tedious to install the MW because of the weight. It is easier if it can be installed before the range goes in, but usally that doesn't happen. You have to muscle the MW with the front tipped down at a 45 angle, catch the hook at the bottom of the mounting bracket, then tip the MW up. Someone has to hold it in place while the bolts are installed down through the cabinet into the top of the MW.

  8. #8
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bjferri View Post
    Thanks Speedy,

    Any tips? I heard it is very cumbersome to install the microwave. I bought a recessed electrical box so when I plug it in the microwave doesn't have to sit awsay from the wall. Why does the box have to go in the cabinet? I thought they both will be seperate...thanks.
    What JW and HJ said.

    There is NO easy physical way to do it the way you describe. These units are designed to have the cord pass through a hole in the bottom of the upper cabinet and get plugged in as I described.
    To plug it in behind the unit you would be violating several safety codes, ignoring the installation instructions, and would have to hack the mounting plate.

    I suggest reading the instructions carefully BEFORE beginning. They are usually very clear. They also come with a template for drilling the upper cabinet for the mounting holes and cord pass-thru hole.
    Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.

  9. #9
    DoD Army bjferri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    148

    Default

    That's why I come here - to get the correct information. I REALLY appreciate this information. Thanks guys!
    Brian

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •