Tapping Into Kitchen Fridge Line

Users who are viewing this thread

bobh

Reaction score
Hi-

Am taking delivery of a stand alone bar for a room adjacent to my kitchen.

I'd like to get a small ice maker/fridge combo unit to use behind the bar
and was wondering, before doing so, if the following is OK (possible) to do.

Ideally, I'd like to tap into the 1/4 in. water pipe behind my kitchen fridge
that's used for that ice maker and run a flexible copper pipe up and inside the 12 foot wall, across the ceiling (in attic/Florida Home) and then down the next 12 foot wall that will be behind the bar area. I'd say an
approximate 40 foot run.

Any quick thoughts, words of caution or general advice on this would be greatly appreciated. :)

Thanks in advance!

Bob

TheZster

Reaction score
First and foremost - I'm not a professional plumber - but do a lot of DIY projects.

Were it me... I'd forgo the copper tubing and use plastic. Much easier to run through all those twists and bends... (somewhere, you're going to end up splicing that copper, making leaks more of a distinct possibility. With plastic you'll have a better chance of a solid run. Also - even if florida it gets cold every blue moon... bury the tubing in the insulation as close to the warmth as possible.

Otherwise - I'd go for it...

Assuming there is no other water access closer to the end product.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score