(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sears softener not regenerating

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    mi
    Posts
    2

    Default Sears softener not regenerating

    Hi there,

    I just purchased a Sears 350 water softener. Had a profesional plumber hook it up over a week ago..

    That day, I filled it up, hit 'regeneration', and watched it work for about the three hours it takes..I set the regeneration to regenerate every 3 days, 2 a.m..

    My problem is, I don't believe it has regenerated since day one. I recently put a piece of notebook paper under the drain tube to see if it got wet during the night, and so far nothing..

    Anyone have any thoughts as to why it's not regenerating?

    Appreciate it.

  2. #2
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Mason dixon Line
    Posts
    1,150

    Default

    I assume that you have gone through the installation and programming manual? If so and "no go" then I would put it into manual regen and start looking for a leak in the brine tube fittings.

  3. #3
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    Does this control read out have a flashing icon when water is running in the house?

    If it has one, and you run water in the house and it does NOT flash, then the meter is not counting.

    The other thing, if the water hardness setting is to low it will take a very long time between cycles.

    How many in the house?
    Hardness in the water?
    Iron in the water?

  4. #4
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,790

    Default

    When you say you set it up for every 3 days, how did you determine 3 days?

    Usually you would have a metered control valve that would regenerate after so many gallons; not based on days.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    mi
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi all-thanks for the replies..

    Last night, as in the previous couple nights, I got up at 2 a.m. in hopes of seeing it regenerating, and it actually was! So I think I'm all set..

    and to answer your questions -

    Yes, Peter, did check for leaks

    The icon does flash when water is running but I may have the hardness level too low-I'll check it out tonight-thank you Akpsdvan.

    Gary what you said about regenerating based on gallons not days, makes sense and I think I read that in the manual, but then why is there a setting that I have to select concerning the intervals (days)? Default is 4 days..

    Thanks again guys..

  6. #6
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,790

    Default

    That should be explained in the manual but it sounds like a calendar override. You should not set that before the gallons would cause a regeneration.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •