(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: aquastat and 3 zone control

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member CtSebby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    14

    Default aquastat and 3 zone control

    Hello we will be wiring a L7248 honeywell aquastat with a ARGO arm3, 3 zone control w/ DHW priority tomorrow. My question is does the circulator and thermostat controls on the aquastat get used or are all 3 circulators and thermostats ran from the 3zone controler. Thanks again. any info on the wiring all together would be great. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Journeyman & Gas Fitter Doherty Plumbing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Penticton, BC
    Posts
    810

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CtSebby View Post
    Hello we will be wiring a L7248 honeywell aquastat with a ARGO arm3, 3 zone control w/ DHW priority tomorrow. My question is does the circulator and thermostat controls on the aquastat get used or are all 3 circulators and thermostats ran from the 3zone controler. Thanks again. any info on the wiring all together would be great. Thanks.
    I'm not familiar with those exact units but they should come with an instruction book that will include a wiring diagram.

  3. #3
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Mason dixon Line
    Posts
    1,150

    Default

    All circulators and thermostats run off the Argo box. You really could trade in the honywell aquastat for a L8148

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member CtSebby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Griffin View Post
    All circulators and thermostats run off the Argo box. You really could trade in the honywell aquastat for a L8148
    The honeywell that came with the boiler had the the wire for the one circulator prewired. So do I just unwire it or is this aquastat incorrect for my application?

    Edit add on: the aquastat say to set the anticipator setting at .1 A. What is this setting and how do we set it.
    Last edited by CtSebby; 12-19-2009 at 04:21 AM.

  5. #5
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Mason dixon Line
    Posts
    1,150

    Default

    It depends. If you have the boiler piped with a primary/secondary piping arrangement then you need the primary circulator to run whenever any zone calls. If not then you can just pull that wire and wire that circ to the Argo control.

    Both Argo and Taco and for that matter Tekmar provide wiring diagrams on their sites for just about any arrangement that you can think of.

  6. #6
    Journeyman & Gas Fitter Doherty Plumbing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Penticton, BC
    Posts
    810

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Griffin View Post
    It depends. If you have the boiler piped with a primary/secondary piping arrangement then you need the primary circulator to run whenever any zone calls. If not then you can just pull that wire and wire that circ to the Argo control.

    Both Argo and Taco and for that matter Tekmar provide wiring diagrams on their sites for just about any arrangement that you can think of.
    Hey it's funny that you know about Tekmar!!! Their head office / mfg plant are about 1.5 hours north of me here in BC! I love Tekmar controls, in fact I took the Tekmar control course at their office in Vernon a couple of years back.

  7. #7
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Mason dixon Line
    Posts
    1,150

    Default

    Tekmar makes most of Taco's reset controls for them. good stuff. Their radiant floor sensors and controls are imho the best.

  8. #8
    Journeyman & Gas Fitter Doherty Plumbing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Penticton, BC
    Posts
    810

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Griffin View Post
    Tekmar makes most of Taco's reset controls for them. good stuff. Their radiant floor sensors and controls are imho the best.
    Tekmar certainly makes some VERY nice controls. Their snow melting controls are pretty nice too!

  9. #9
    DIY Junior Member CtSebby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    14

    Default

    does anyone know anything about an some kind of envirocon brand equipment that can be wired to the beckett burner. I searched here and googled and didnt come up with much.

    BTW the new Utica tri-fire 3 pass wet based boiler and 35 gal indirect DHW tank is in and wire up running smooth. I just have to have a contractor adjust the draft and I believe the burner. The wiring seems overwelming at first but is so simple a caveman can do it.

    the outdoor reset is with UPS and should be here in a day or 2 as well. any advice on the outdoor reset?

    thanks for your help so far!

  10. #10
    Journeyman & Gas Fitter Doherty Plumbing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Penticton, BC
    Posts
    810

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CtSebby View Post
    the outdoor reset is with UPS and should be here in a day or 2 as well. any advice on the outdoor reset?

    thanks for your help so far!
    Set it for the lowest temperature you think you'll see all year and then set the max water temperature you want to boiler to deliver on that day. Then the boiler will automatically adjust to temperatures based on that.

  11. #11
    Network Engineer rmelo99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    349

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CtSebby View Post
    does anyone know anything about an some kind of envirocon brand equipment that can be wired to the beckett burner. I searched here and googled and didnt come up with much.

    BTW the new Utica tri-fire 3 pass wet based boiler and 35 gal indirect DHW tank is in and wire up running smooth. I just have to have a contractor adjust the draft and I believe the burner. The wiring seems overwelming at first but is so simple a caveman can do it.

    the outdoor reset is with UPS and should be here in a day or 2 as well. any advice on the outdoor reset?

    thanks for your help so far!
    If you meant intellicon then yes, it can be used to save you fuel. Google Intellicon HW+ or the Cheaper Beckett HeatManager. Its the same control made by intellicon, no LCD and the logic is a bit less. Both are available on ****.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •