Strange hot water problem! Help a newbie!

Users who are viewing this thread

kissiffer4

Reaction score
Hi all,

We just moved into the top two floors of a brownstone in Harlem. Exciting stuff, however, I am starting to realize what life without a super is really like. I'm a novice when it comes to plumbing and here is our first problem! Any feedback would be really appreciated.

When we run the hot water in the bathroom it runs boiling hot for about a minute and then cools right down to luke warm temp. Turning off the tap, waiting a minute, then turning it back on results in the same thing. Runs really hot for 30 seconds or so, then goes warm. It does this over and over again!

I got a handyman/plumber guy in to take a look and he couldn't really tell if there was a problem with the water heater or boiler. He said the water in the heater seemed to be really hot. The thermostat on the heater wasn't quite at the max, so he turned that up all the way and said it might help, but again he didn't really give a definitive answer as to what was causing this to happen. He also added that replacing the thermostat might help.

Any ideas folks? I know absolutely nothing about plumbing and would be so grateful for a bit of advice.

It is a 40 gallon gas heater (in the basement, we are on the 2nd & 3rd floor).

Cheers all :)

FloridaOrange

Plumbing Designer
Reaction score
Does it only happen at one fixture? What brand of fixture? Almost sounds like your cold is mixing with the hot in the valve, I've heard of shower valves doing that.

Cranking up the heater usually isn't the answer and can be a bad idea in itself. Get a plumber, not a handyman.

Thatguy

Homeowner
Reaction score
When we run the hot water in the bathroom it runs boiling hot for about a minute and then cools right down to luke warm temp.

Turning off the tap, waiting a minute, then turning it back on results in the same thing. Runs really hot for 30 seconds or so, then goes warm.