(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27

Thread: Is it wise to install service panel on outside of house?

  1. #16
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,602

    Default breakers

    One of the major differences as to where it is mounted is whether you have a basement or not. If not, then finding a good spot to put a panel indoors where it is not obtrusive or a nuisance, can be difficult. That is why we have them outdoors. But then, we do not have 6' of snow, 30 below weather, or blinding rainstorms either.

  2. #17
    Extreme DIY Homeowner Scuba_Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South of Boston, MA
    Posts
    885

    Default

    When my Christmas display is setup it never fails that a heavy rain will trip a GFCI breaker
    I usually wait until the next day to reset them
    Other then that very rare a breaker trips
    But Murphy's law seems to indicate when one does trip it will be a circuit you need & pouring rain out
    I've never had anything stacked in front of the panels
    That's against code
    DIY Handyman (not 4 hire)
    I have enough to do to my own house

  3. #18
    DIY Junior Member bobwilli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Salem, Oregon
    Posts
    10

    Default Is it wise to install service panel on outside of house?

    You all have given me a good and entertaining education! Thanks. I have asked some more questions of one of the installation bidders, and he said that code requires only that there be a 30" clear space somewhere beneath the panel, not necessarily centered under it as I had thought based on what some contractors said. Since the clear space can start under the left edge of the panel and extend to the right 30", I can make that work inside since I can move the dryer just out from under left edge of the panel, and I can easily clear 30" to the right.

    Does that agree with what you all know about code, or could that be specific to Oregon or Salem where I live?

  4. #19
    Electrical Contractor jbfan74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Newnan, GA
    Posts
    129

    Default

    30 inches side to side and it does not matter where you start the measurement, and 36 inches in front.
    Yes I am A Pirate-Jimmy Buffett

  5. #20
    Sound and Light Suppervisor for a School District tjbaudio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    162

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
    A) How often do you trip breakers?

    B) How hard is it to walk outside and reset a breaker?

    At least we don't have to climb the basement stairs and move a bunch of crap that is stacked in front of the panel


    Panels are always outside here in the Southwest. That's how we roll
    I grew up in WI and moved back here after living in Oregon. Here in WI I have NEVER seen a branch panel outside. I have seen a pole mounted panel for farm distribution (4 to 6 large breakers feeding various buildings) When I lived in OR some of the places had out door breakers. Every single out door breaker panel I have seen has been corroded.
    tjbaudio
    I have a mild form of Dyslexia that affects my ability to spell. I do use spell checking to help but it does not always work. My form of Dyslexia does not affect my reading. Dyslexics of the world untie!

    www.incertclevername.com

  6. #21
    Plumbing Designer FloridaOrange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    SW Florida
    Posts
    1,317

    Default

    Panels down here are usually in the attached garage, quite often the other side of the wall from the meter.
    Matt
    Semi-professional plumbing designer
    Enjoying life in SW Florida

  7. #22
    DIY Junior Member Joetime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    WNY
    Posts
    1

    Default

    The NEC requires the service cable to terminate at the service disconnect as soon as it enters the house. If your meter is at one end of the house and panel is at the other end then a main disconnect can be located either outside or inside on the meter side. Nothing about the panel inside or outside. For installation convenience the meter and disconnect can be sold as one unit and most power companies require the meter outside.

  8. #23
    DIY Senior Member Homeownerinburb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA USA
    Posts
    505

    Default

    It is ABSOLUTELY the common, done thing in Los Angeles.

    Admittedly we don't get lots of rain.

    And I have seen many arrangements were the branch circuits are on a sub panel inside and all the heavy work is done in the main panel.

    I'm looking at a likely repanel just now for my current client. He has a 8/16 sub in the house, and that would stay where it is, and the new one would move around to the side of the house.

    Except for the potential of rain, I don't see any issues at all. I have never heard a customer complain that some kids had messed with their panel.

  9. #24
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,632

    Default

    They put the panels outside here.

    And we are near the salt water. It does not do any good for the breakers or wire.

    I do not think it is a great idea if you have a choice, Even if code says it is OK.

    With all of the smart meters now a days, The fire dept will kill the power, by remote, and don't even need to get to your panel, or smart meter.


    Have Fun.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  10. #25
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Homeownerinburb View Post
    It is ABSOLUTELY the common, done thing in Los Angeles.

    Admittedly we don't get lots of rain.

    And I have seen many arrangements were the branch circuits are on a sub panel inside and all the heavy work is done in the main panel.

    I'm looking at a likely repanel just now for my current client. He has a 8/16 sub in the house, and that would stay where it is, and the new one would move around to the side of the house.

    Except for the potential of rain, I don't see any issues at all. I have never heard a customer complain that some kids had messed with their panel.
    The rain is not the issue. The issue is that the main panel is outside. Period.
    Stupidest thing in the world IMO.

    Oh, and we can thank new member Joetime for dragging up a four year old thread. Why is anyone's guess.

  11. #26
    DIY Senior Member Homeownerinburb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA USA
    Posts
    505

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
    The rain is not the issue. The issue is that the main panel is outside. Period.
    Stupidest thing in the world IMO.

    Oh, and we can thank new member Joetime for dragging up a four year old thread. Why is anyone's guess.
    Stupid or not, it is as common as orange juice here.

  12. #27
    DIY Senior Member bluebinky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    354

    Default

    Very common in the bay area too.

    Back in Texas, my panel is in the walk-in master bedroom closet. If I upgrade, it'll have to go outside or be a major hassle to move. No permit required -- although the NEC still applies...

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •