Bleeding cold water?

Users who are viewing this thread

Mid Night Illusions

Reaction score
To all those that reply to this thank you very much, and this is such a great forum.

So I just bought a house and it has a boiler system for heat. It was working fine till I discovered a leak, it seams that the old owner done paint, rugs, and lower trim but when the done the lower trim they pounded a nail right into the copper line LOL!
So the house is a split 4 level home and has one thermostat the very top floor has 3 bedrooms and 1 bathroom.
The 2 bedrooms on the left have very little heat and the one had the nail repair.
As for the right side one bedroom and one bathroom have no heat none at all??
I've blead the damn thing for a long time and nothing but streight cold water not even an ounce of hot water....?
Like WTF can someone help me I'm a complete newb at this...I'm not reading anymore threads I've read enough and not getting anywere with this lol
thanks again and bare with my newbieness lol.

Last edited:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
First off, has the nail hole been repaired? If not, fix that.

Does the boiler turn on? Are the pipes near it hot? How about after the circulator pumps? Zone valves? ALl fo the valves open?

Are there any bleed valves at the radiators or baseboards in the rooms that are not heating? Can you feel the pipes anywhere along the way to see if they are hot or at least warm?