(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Dryer Hookup

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member tate16t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    23

    Default Dryer Hookup

    I'm in NY. We're replace an existing dryer. It is hardwired. A cable is coming from the dryer to a steel utility box. The cable coming from the wall is black with a black and white cable with a copper ground cable coming from it. They connect within the steel utility box to the dryer cable. I understand I need to have a receptacle added. Do I add a 4 or 3 conductor receptacle?

    Thanks

  2. #2

    Default

    Although it will function safely (my opinion of course), the NM cable you have is not proper for a dryer.

    Type SE cable also utilizes a bare neutral/ground but it for some reason is legal in existing circuits.

    You have a 3 wire circuit existing. The black and white wires are hot (240 volts) and the bare was acting as the neutral/ground.

    If you can replace the cable with a 10-3 with ground back to the panel and remove the bonding jumper in the dryer jbox, you will have a code compliant installation.


    My house...eh.

    Customers house, I'd tell them they had to replace it.

  3. #3
    ACO Shower Drain Sales johnfrwhipple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    2,972
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Dryer plug

    If you need to upgrade your hard wired dryer with a plug in version you will need to know what kind of plug to buy.

    Most will mount on to a 4"x4" junction box which I'm guessing you have. You will need to get the plug with the right slots in the right direction because there are a least 3 versions of dryer plugs that are common. You can get yourself into trouble if you hook up a plug and appliance that can over draw the requirements of your electrical wire. Wires are rated for certain loads and need to be checked before adding services or extra loads. Check with a licensed electrian that your wire and set up are OK for the change. Often a hardwired junction box has more connections inside and there are code restrictions for the number of wires connected with a plug. It may be that you have to add another junction box with the new plug near by.

    The internet is great. Download the manual (if you don't all ready have it) and go pick up the right plug.

    Pictures help.

    Good Luck.


    jfrwhipple@gmail.com - www-no-curb.com - 604 506 6792

    Always get construction advice double checked by your local city hall. Flood Test Every Shower - Every Time.

  4. #4
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Tate, you have got tons of helpful replies on the other forums you posted to. Many before you posted here, quite a few after.

    I like this forum a lot, but I suggest you go read those others and acknowledge those of us who took the time to respond.
    Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.

  5. #5
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,653

    Default dryer

    In its simplest form, the answer would be to use the required 30 amp 4 prong outlet and service cord.

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member tate16t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
    Tate, you have got tons of helpful replies on the other forums you posted to. Many before you posted here, quite a few after.

    I like this forum a lot, but I suggest you go read those others and acknowledge those of us who took the time to respond.
    Thanks Speedy. I did not assume responses would come from the same folks and like to obtain different opinions in order to form my own. Don't get me wrong, I do appreciate your response.

  7. #7
    DIY Junior Member tate16t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Thanks everyone. I'm installing a new line today.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •