(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: Reactor in a portable Miller Big 40 welder?

Hybrid View

Default Reactor in a portable Miller Big 40 welder?

I am looking for some info on a "reactor" that is in a potrtable welder. This reactor is basically a transformer, I believe, and the welding current is controlled by the windings. I would just like to confirm that this is my problem. The welder runs fine except for the fact that the weld power cannot be adjusted to lower settings, is always putting out too much power no matter where the switch is set. Does someone know how to positively check this "reactor" as a new one is quite expensive. I am a maintenance electrician but just have never dealt with this particular unit. Thanks in advance for any assistance......
    Last edited by inillinois2; 10-27-2009 at 08:37 PM. Reason: Link to schematic

Quote Originally Posted by inillinois2 View Post
    I am looking for some info on a "reactor" that is in a potrtable welder. This reactor is basically a transformer, I believe, and the welding current is controlled by the windings. I would just like to confirm that this is my problem. The welder runs fine except for the fact that the weld power cannot be adjusted to lower settings, is always putting out too much power no matter where the switch is set. Does someone know how to positively check this "reactor" as a new one is quite expensive. I am a maintenance electrician but just have never dealt with this particular unit. Thanks in advance for any assistance......
    It could be a "saturable reactor". You post schematic, we troubleshoot.

http://www.freepatentsonline.com/3833849.html
    Last edited by Thatguy; 10-27-2009 at 06:06 PM.

http://www.tpub.com/content/neets/14.../14180_135.htm

There is a lot in the circuit besides the reactor ( transformer ) itself. If the reactor was bad, it likely would actually show burned. If it is an open winding, that could be determined with an ohmeter, using the schematic.