(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How much water in the boiler

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    5

    Default How much water in the boiler

    I have 3 zone baseboard heat. I had to replace the pressure relief valve on the boiler and I now have air in the 2nd floor baseboards. I have bled the zone but still have some trapped air so I need to do some more bleeding. My concern is how to tell how full the boiler is. Do I just go by the pressure gauge? When it's at 15 psi there's enough water and close the fast fill or is there another way yo tell? Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    5

    Default Maybe I should re-phrase

    As I'm bleeding the air from the zone, I have the auto fill valve open for fast fill. If I maintain the pressure @15 psi as I bleed, will I keep the proper water level in the boiler? Is there a way to tell how much water is in the boiler? Is it just by reading the pressure gauge?

  3. #3
    Plumbing Contractor for 49 years johnjh2o1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    South*East
    Posts
    1,121

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob C View Post
    As I'm bleeding the air from the zone, I have the auto fill valve open for fast fill. If I maintain the pressure @15 psi as I bleed, will I keep the proper water level in the boiler? Is there a way to tell how much water is in the boiler? Is it just by reading the pressure gauge?
    what type of system do you have? Loop or one pipe. Is your baseboard cast iron or copper fin?

    John

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    It's copper fin baseboard. Not sure what you mean by loop or one pipe

  5. #5
    Plumbing Contractor for 49 years johnjh2o1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    South*East
    Posts
    1,121

    Default

    A one pipe system has a main running around the basement, it will have two tees for each section of baseboard. With a loop system there is no main it feeds from one section of baseboard to the other.

    John

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    OK thanks it's a loop system.

  7. #7
    Plumbing Contractor for 49 years johnjh2o1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    South*East
    Posts
    1,121

    Default

    The way to vent a loop system is to purge it. I may be able to help you get through the process if you can post a picture of your boiler & piping.

    John

  8. #8
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    John,
    Thanks for the offer but I called the oil company since we have a service contract. Something just didn't seem right to me. Turns out that the feed valve was clogged up with crud and corrosion. He replaced the valve and purged the system. Everything is working fine now. Thanks again for offering to help.
    Rob
    Last edited by Rob C; 10-21-2009 at 09:54 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •