(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: How does the layman drill a 2" hole in concrete block?

I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar

Default How does the layman drill a 2" hole in concrete block?

Subject says it all ... how does the layman (me) drill a 2-1/2" diameter hole through an 8" hollow concrete block wall?

Would a carbide tip hole saw on an extension do the job? Center bit won't be masonary bit....

Thanks,
    Jason

Diamond core bit if you want the hole nice and clean. Look here for good prices. I've used these and they worked well. Or if you're not particular about the hole, you can drill a bunch of smaller holes in the shape you need and break it out. You're gonna want a hammer drill if you don't use the core bit.
    I consider myself an accomplished DIY'er. I don't know everything but help where I can. I'm not a pro, but like to think I'm professional.

Your link didn't work.

Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar

It's EGay.

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

If you only needed to do a couple, a concrete block wall shold be able to be drilled with a carbide holesaw. Note, if you hit a rib, it would be a big pain whatever you used. The centerhole bit can probably be found with a carbide tip, or, just drill the hole with one, then, the bit is just a guide. In fact, you could just use the shaft and not dull it at all. Once the hole saw is started, you don't need the center bit but you need to be careful. Diamond core bits often do not have a center bit, and it is an aquired skill to start them and get the hole where you want without it walking all over the place (this would probably work with the hole saw as well). Basically, you start with the drill at about a 45-degree angle so only a little edge is cutting, once it makes a decent divot, you slowly pivot the drill so it is perpendicular to the wall and finish the hole.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro