(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Federal Pacific Panels

  1. #1
    DIY Member Ford2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Manchester, Vermont
    Posts
    32

    Cool Federal Pacific Panels

    Hi Guys>

    Got a call, to tie in the circuits left hanging by the electrical panels by another electrician. Two Federal Pacific Breaker panel, with a 200 amp. Service Disconnect Breaker.

    I told the customer I would left him know Monday, but no later than
    Tueday.

    So would you take a job that all wired, and the only thing left if running
    the wires into the panels. But I see one problem, you can purchase
    AFCI FPE or GFCI FPE breakers.

    So let hears your thoughts and opinions on this> THANKS

    The guy that started the wiring, had to go Iraq.

  2. #2
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default

    This sounds very suspicious.

    Are you sure it wasn't a DIYer?

    Even as a DIYer I always find time to tie a new circuit into the panel. That's a five minute job compared to the hours running the circuit.

    But I can see many DIYers stopping just short of there.
    Last edited by Ian Gills; 10-18-2009 at 04:51 AM.

  3. #3
    Plumber Cass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,984

    Default

    Yes...they can be found but I wouldn't touch it with a 10 foot pole unless the customer wanted a pannel change out..

  4. #4
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    This has DIY written ALL over it. The ask an electrician to check their work and "do the tie ins". They think that tying into the panel is the hardest part.

    FPE is FPE. You just deal with it however you can.

    Are AFCI's required in your area?
    And WHY GFI breakers? Why not devices?
    FPE GFI breakers are available, but good luck finding them.

    If AFCI's and/or GFI breakers are required you have two choices:
    Replace the panel, or install a sub-panel.
    Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.

  5. #5
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    I found a FPE GFCI breaker on google....$200. And you never know on this kind of search it that item is really even available. Did not find any AFCI. I think the handwriting is on the wall

  6. #6

    Default

    Good luck finding a UL listed breaker for that panel which should be replaced.

    Either this is a DIY OR

    Another electrician ran the circuits but refused to tie into that panel and you are the fall guy.

    Either way it stinks of something not good.
    http://www.inspectpa.com/forum/forum.php
    My answers are based mostly on the ICC codes. Advice given is my personal opinion and every person performing work should acquire a permit from his/her jurisdiction and get the work inspected. My opinions are not directions to follow for DIYs or professionals

  7. #7
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    My supply house has brand new FPE replacement breakers.
    Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.

  8. #8
    DIY Member Ford2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Manchester, Vermont
    Posts
    32

    Cool Fpe breakers panels, replace or not replace

    Thanks to everyone who took the time to post a reply. Your comments
    were greatly appreciated.

    As far getting my hands on, FPE breakers, there available in my area.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •