(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: new kitchen circuits

  1. #1
    DIY Senior Member wallygater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    long island
    Posts
    133

    Default new kitchen circuits

    How many new circuits will I need for my kitchen remodel?
    microwave= dedicated 20 amp
    refrigerator= dedicated 20 amp
    gas stove, outlets, switches, lighting, fan, toaster oven = dedicated 20 amp
    That's three
    Do I need another one for the dishwasher?
    wally

  2. #2
    Electrical Contractor Jim Port's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    156

    Default

    The NEC requires a minimum of 2 20-amp circuits to serve the receptacles. There can be no lighting on these circuits. Microwave hoods will require a dedicatd circuit. Some refrigerators will require a circuit, otherwise can share the 20 amp small appliance circuit. Gas ignitors can also share the small appliance circuit.

    Dishwashers and disposals can sometimes share a circuit.

  3. #3

    Default

    As stated above with my own twist:

    2 - 20 Amp circuits for the kitchen counters (mandatory) & gas stove receptacle
    1 - 15 Amp circuit for the fridge (most only use 7-10amps)
    1 - 20 Amp circuit for the built in microwave/exhaust hood combo
    1 - 15 Amp circuit for kitchen lighting and miscellaneous wall receptacles.
    http://www.inspectpa.com/forum/forum.php
    My answers are based mostly on the ICC codes. Advice given is my personal opinion and every person performing work should acquire a permit from his/her jurisdiction and get the work inspected. My opinions are not directions to follow for DIYs or professionals

  4. #4
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    Refrig, micro, DW. Each works on a 15 amp. A dedicated for each is very convenient, because you can turn off just that one for service if necessary; and of of course each uses the better part of 15, so you would not want to combine.. DW used to be typically hard wired. I don't know it code requires plug in now, but I can tell you that the new tall tub DW are much more difficult to work with, and having a cord to an outlet in the adjacent undersink cabinet makes that part of the job easier.

  5. #5
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,615

    Default outlets

    HAving a cord to the sink cabinet also provides for a "visible" disconnect means when working on the dishwasher. What are "miscellaneous outlets" on a lighting circuit?

  6. #6
    DIY Senior Member wallygater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    long island
    Posts
    133

    Default new kitchen circuits

    I would like to keep the lighting and the "miscellaneous outlets" on a seperate circut.

    "2 - 20 Amp circuits for the kitchen counters (mandatory) & gas stove receptacle"

    I will only have one counter outlet so I guess that means just one manditory 20 amp breaker, not two
    Does that sound correct?

    lights 20 amp
    fridge 20 amp
    counter outlet 20 amp
    microwave 20 amp
    dishwasher 20 amp
    miscellaneous outlets 20 amp

    Thats 6 new breakers in the box. Does that sound like to much?
    wally

  7. #7

    Default

    Thats 6 new breakers in the box. Does that sound like to much?
    Kind of....maybe. In some cases there is no such thing as too many. If the space is available and the access is easy, the more circuits, the less the load is on each circuit. In my house I installed 4 circuits just for the counter top receps. That way there is no worries if a coffee pot gets plugged in next to a toaster.


    Your kitchen must have two 20 amp circuits for "small appliances".
    Your built in micro must have one 20 amp circuit
    Your dishwasher/disposal must have one 20 amp circuit.

    The refer can be on one of the counter top recep circuits. Run the home run to the refer first, then to the counter top recep. Refer doesn't have to be GFCI protected (and shouldn't in my opinion).

    We generally put the lighting on an existing 15 amp circuit.
    Last edited by 220/221; 10-20-2009 at 06:47 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •