(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: filling/topping off a pond via sprinkler system

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    DIY Senior Member Master Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    368

    Default filling/topping off a pond via sprinkler system

    Has anyone done anything like this before?

    I'm in the process of installing a sprinkler system. I am working on one zone at a time as I move soil and plant grass. The local sprinkler company has been very helpful and I asked them this question and they said yes and he tried to explain, but I didn't catch everything he said and didn't want to keep him any longer.

    I am hoping a sandpoint well, with a 3/4hp pump, that I am in process of installing will power everything, if not, it will be tied to city water and this is a mute point as I don't want chlorinated (sp?) water filling if I'm not there to add neutralizer.

    I realize I would need a float sensor, like on a sump pump, and I've seen those. I was told I would also need a switch, forget name, that sends signal to pump for it to kick on. From there I am a bit lost how it would connect to a control panel and tie together.

    I should also mention I don't have a control panel yet, so if I should look at a certain one that would be great.

    I guess part of my confusion is, would it really need to be tied to the sprinkler system control panel....

  2. #2
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,655

    Default water

    It would not "need" to be tied to the irrigation control panel, but it might be the easiest way. You WILL want the water to come from the same line that supplies your irrigation water, because that SHOULD have the proper safety devices if you connect to the city supply line. All you need is a water level switch, and there are many types of these, some more precise than a sump pump switch as far as controlling a fairly precise water level. that would connect to the 24 volt "Feed" circuit of the controller, not one of the zones, and also to an irrigation solenoid valve to actually add the water.

  3. #3
    DIY Senior Member Master Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Hj, if all goes well, it won't be connected to city water, but a sandpoint well instead. I've already started installing the irrigation, but haven't made any perminant connections to a water source as I'm hoping the sandpoint will have the pressure to run the system. If not, It will be city water.

    With that said, no matter what happens with the irrigation, the pond would need to be connected to the well, as I don't want city water added, if I'm not around to kill the chlorine. Unless of course I could filter the water through a charcoal filter prior to it entering the pond. That wouldn't be hard and I have an extra filter, but just one more thing to go wrong!

  4. #4
    Irrigation Installation and Repair Contractor American Irrigation's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I would probably just make the pond a seperate valve, and put a manual float in the pond. That would be easiest, and then it would work off your sprinkler timer.
    Irrigation Installation and Repair Contractor Since 1997
    sprinkler system austin

  5. #5
    DIY Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    northeast
    Posts
    49

    Default

    I've set it up two ways. If you have a pressurized mainline, you could plumb it so a float switch works directly off of the mainline water. That eliminates the use of a valve and irrigation controller. The pond will automatically fill as needed. The other way is to use a electric zone valve wired to the controller and set to come on as you have programed it.

  6. #6
    Irrigation Installation and Repair Contractor American Irrigation's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BRD View Post
    I've set it up two ways. If you have a pressurized mainline, you could plumb it so a float switch works directly off of the mainline water. That eliminates the use of a valve and irrigation controller. The pond will automatically fill as needed. The other way is to use a electric zone valve wired to the controller and set to come on as you have programed it.
    Only negative to running it full time off the main-line is that if it seeps, leaks, or gets debris in it, it will run forever. Seen many a 1,000 dollar water bill caused by a goofed up fill valve directly tied off the main.
    Irrigation Installation and Repair Contractor Since 1997
    sprinkler system austin

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •