(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Double lugging

  1. #1
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default Double lugging

    As a matter of code I never double lug neutrals in my electrical panel but as a matter of preference I do not double lug grounds either.

    Due to a space issue, I may have to start double lugging grounds soon.

    My grounds and neutrals share the same bar.

    Any comments?

  2. #2
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    I agree.
    .
    .
    Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.

  3. #3

    Default

    Due to a space issue, I may have to start double lugging grounds soon.

    Don't lose any sleep over it.....or add a ground bar.

  4. #4
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,605

    Default double lugging

    If the wires are clamped in holes, no problem. If they are clamped under screws then make sure both wires are the same gauge.

  5. #5
    Plumber Cass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,984

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian Gills View Post

    My grounds and neutrals share the same bar.

    Any comments?

    They should / can unless it is a subpannel

  6. #6

    Default

    You can also go by what the panel manufacturer says in the installation instructions or on the label.

  7. #7
    Extreme DIY Homeowner Scuba_Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South of Boston, MA
    Posts
    885

    Default

    I double the grounds when needed - same gauges only together
    I also tend to "seperate" the grounds & neutrals to make doubling easier if needed
    IE I fill the bar from the bottom/top with neutrals, and fill from the opposite end with grounds
    DIY Handyman (not 4 hire)
    I have enough to do to my own house

  8. #8

    Default

    You can place 2 grounds under one terminal if:

    1) The panel ground bar is rated for 2 wires.
    2) The size of the wires are the same where you place 2 under on terminal.
    3) The panel ground bar is rated for the size wire(s) you are attaching.
    http://www.inspectpa.com/forum/forum.php
    My answers are based mostly on the ICC codes. Advice given is my personal opinion and every person performing work should acquire a permit from his/her jurisdiction and get the work inspected. My opinions are not directions to follow for DIYs or professionals

  9. #9

    Default

    Read the panel listing & labeling, some are listed for as many as 3-EGC's per screw, with a limitation of being the same size, & conductor type. If one runs out of space on a ground bar you can always add a additional ground bar, too.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •