(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: lally columns

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    1

    Default help..lally columns

    I want to replace a lally column in my basement. the columns are spaced about 5'5" apart and i want to take out the center column (of 3). My plan was to take 2 more columns and place them just inside of the 2 outer ones, on top of these columns I would put an 8x8 beam to span the 10' gap that existed. My main beam consists of 6 2 x 12's. I have lot of people telling me that leaving the 11 foot gap would be fine b/c of my existing beam, and that i dont have to put anything there at all, but i think just to be safe the 8x8 supported by the 2 columns will make up for the absence of the middle one i pull out. will my plan work?
    Last edited by smatarazzo; 09-14-2009 at 02:32 PM. Reason: needs new title

  2. #2
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,655

    Default lally

    Are you going to take the advice of someone who has NEVER seen your installation, and has NO IDEA why the lallies were installed that way? It seems so unusual that there may be some good reason for it and the only way to be sure is to have a structural engineer check it out.

  3. #3
    Extreme DIY Homeowner Scuba_Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South of Boston, MA
    Posts
    885

    Default

    Doubling the span distance without knowing the load on the beam is not a good idea
    If the exisiting beams could span 11' they would have probably built it that way
    As hj said, you can't guess at this, you need to have an engineer verify the loads & beam required
    DIY Handyman (not 4 hire)
    I have enough to do to my own house

  4. #4
    I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,328

    Default

    Post details about your house, spans, materials, walls, loads, etc and someone can help.

    6-2x12's seems like a fairly large beam to me...must be a big load...

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member seaofnames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Mission, BC
    Posts
    162

    Default

    As stated. Get an engineer to look at it.

    Then get an engineered beam!! Much stronger than just 8x8 or 6 2x12s or any of that jazz. Engineered beams are the way to go for any kind of major structural change.

  6. #6
    I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,328

    Default

    If it indeed has that sort of load, I would put in a steel beam probably.

  7. #7
    Mechanical Engineer loafer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    49

    Default

    By doubling the span, you will decrease the stiffness of that beam by a factor of 8.

  8. #8
    I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,328

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loafer View Post
    By doubling the span, you will decrease the stiffness of that beam by a factor of 8.
    If it doesn't fail first...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •