Can't disconnect pitless adapter

Users who are viewing this thread

Bester

Reaction score
I've got a leak or bad check valve and need to pull up my pump.I've never done this before but last time I had this same problem it cost nearly 2000.00.It was just a rusted nipple but I was told I should opt for a new pump,What a rip.Anyways I couldn't figure out the pitless connection but what I'm looking at online seems as if mine is of the "cable"or "spring" type.There is no cable on it but it has a piviting lever that contacts the side of the well.I pulled and pryed as hard as i could like an idiot until I noticed the lever.I tryed to make a hook out of some old copper tubing that was laying around but no luck.What should I do to unhook this thing? Am I on the right track??The well has been running all summer on 5 sec. off 15 sec. 24/7.I thought this was the case but only verified the problem after a 300.00+ electric bill.Thanks for any help you can offer

Drick

In the Trades
Reaction score
Not sure about your pitless. On mine all I do is thread a pipe into the top of it and pull up the pump. What I can tell you a motor will not survive long continuously short cycling like that. You should have disconnected it the minute you noticed it. The fact that yours is still running after doing that for a month is kind of surprising to me. In any event when you do pull the pump you might as well replace it or expect to be pulling it again real soon.

-rick

Bester

Reaction score
I'm hoping its going to be so easy once I figure this dang thing out that I'll replace the pump next time.The last time this happened the pump was 15 years old and it did the same thing for months.It was still working fine and only replaced it on recommendation of well company.I'm sure I'm pushing my luck but just can't spend the money right now.Doesn't anyone have a suggestion on how to "release" this pitless connection?

Teets

CT pump guy
Reaction score