Copper or PEX

Users who are viewing this thread

Dom Z

Reaction score
I just received a price to upgrade the hot and cold supplies for my new shower.
We want to upgrade from 1/2" to 3/4".

The plumber says I can save about $600 by using PEX instead of copper.
He tells me there is no difference between using copper or using PEX.

Will 3/4" PEX give me the same amount of water flow as 3/4" copper will?
I concerned that upgrading from 1/2" copper to 3/4" PEX give me little or no benefit.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
First of all let me say that I am not a pro. Secondly, let me say that this is my opinion without a lot of scientific facts to back me up. Therefore, take it as personal opinion. I would never use PEX if copper was possible. PEX is not yet proven to be reliable in the the long term. There have been problems with the material and with the fittings. I know there have been improvements, but the track record isn't there yet. Copper is a proven product without the potential problems of PEX. That's my opinion and I'm sticking to it.:D

Dom Z

Reaction score
Just use the type of PEX that doesn't have a lawsuit that's leaking/bursting behind the walls. There's quite a few of them now and some have quit being manufactured.

I'm not asking about the quality. I'm asking about it's ability to carry the same amount of water. Will 3/4" PEX carry the same amount of water to my shower as 3/4" copper will?

darcy122

Reaction score
3/4" pex will supply you with just as much water as 3/4" copper and is way more affordable not only on material cost but the labour takes way less time

Dunbar Plumbing

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati Area
Website
www.KoldBreeze.com
I'm not asking about the quality. I'm asking about it's ability to carry the same amount of water. Will 3/4" PEX carry the same amount of water to my shower as 3/4" copper will?

Well, since you don't care about quality...