(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: Can I Tie A Sink Drain Into A Floor Drain Vent Line?

Default Can I Tie A Sink Drain Into A Floor Drain Vent Line?

I would like to put a utility sink in a particular location in my basement. There is a floor drain near the planned sink location. The vent pipe for the floor drain runs up a nearby interior wall a couple of feet from where I would like to place the sink. The drain connects to the septic system.

Can I safely tee into the vent stack and connect the sink's trap to that point?

Thank you.

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

Generally, once you make a vent a drain, it no longer functions as a vent, so no. You'd have to tie into the drain line before the vent take-off fitting. You could connect to that vent above the flood plane of the new sink so you don't have to run a new vent line, though.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

The vent take off fitting is embedded in the basement floor. I was hoping what I would like to do constitutes a wet vent.

Quote Originally Posted by Cedar
    I was hoping what I would like to do constitutes a wet vent.
    You're in luck! It does constitute a wet vent.

That's what's wrong with it.

Whether you can do what you want to do depends upon your local code and how it is enforced.

For example: in the Uniform Plumbing Code, you can wet vent a toilet with a basin drain, but the required vent (2") has to be raised to the next pipe size when you do (3" assuming there is no 2-1/2" pipe available).
    Steve's Plumbing Service

Quote Originally Posted by Lakee911 View Post
    Is it right? No. Will it work? Probably.
    Well, yea but that can be said for probably 90% of wrong plumbing.

You can only wet vent bathroom groups (fixtures) no kitchen sinks, laundry trays, washing machines etc.

Plumbing Designer FloridaOrange's Avatar