(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cat 5e

  1. #1
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default Cat 5e

    I am remodelling my basement and I have run this for telephone outlets.

    But I was really reluctant too. I read everywhere that I should, but in a world of wireless networks have I completed wasted my time and money?

    Wouldn't ordinary telephone cable have been as good?

    With wireless networks, surely the future will not need such fancy cables.

  2. #2
    I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,328

    Default

    The price difference between POTS wire and cat 5e isn't much. Either way though doing it now is cheap insurance should you decide to use it later. I wouldn't lose sleep over it.

  3. #3
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,655

    Default cable

    What do mean by "ordinary telephone cable"? Cat3? You can never go wrong by overdoing it, since you do not know what your future use might be for them.

  4. #4
    Plumbing Designer FloridaOrange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    SW Florida
    Posts
    1,317

    Default

    As stated above installling the Cat5 may give you flexibility down the road. I personally don't like running wireless on desktop computers, I'm all for maximum speed, at home I get up to 21mbps download and at work on a commercial cable line the most I've seen is 6 or 8 mbps.
    Matt
    Semi-professional plumbing designer
    Enjoying life in SW Florida

  5. #5
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default

    Thanks for all the tips.

    I meant the old 4-wire stuff which they still sell (POTS above?).

  6. #6
    DIY Senior Member Jeff1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    102

    Default

    I'd run CAT5 (4 twisted pair) as long as you're in there. There are a lot of applications for it including phone and some home automation. Its even used for some advanced TV instead of coax.

  7. #7
    Extreme DIY Homeowner Scuba_Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South of Boston, MA
    Posts
    885

    Default

    I have a bunch of CAT3 left over from a job years ago
    So I have wired the 1st floor & other areas using the CAT3 for phones
    I work in the compuiter field & while we have a wireless setup I hardly use it
    It's slower
    I've also run CAT 6 to the same areas for computer connections
    And Quad for cable
    I didn't use a punch down block for the phone
    I did for the CAT6 runs
    DIY Handyman (not 4 hire)
    I have enough to do to my own house

  8. #8
    Like an engineer alternety's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    636

    Default

    I agree - use cat 5e (or 6 but there was a significant premium for this when last I looked). Even if you never use it for other than phones you have some spare pairs and it probably is not much more expensive. As opposed to getting a wire through the walls and floors if you need one. Wireless is not a panacea. It is relatively slow and coverage can get spotty throughout the house. There are also security issues if you do not understand what needs to be done.

    If you use the cat 5, handle it properly. If you kink a piece, throw it away. Pay attention to manufacturers maxim pull force and turn radius. Don't attach it so that you compress the cable (i.e., regular staples). It won't matter to the phone, but data speed could be reduced if you ignore proper installation.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •