Shower plumbing remodel help

Users who are viewing this thread

am350z

Reaction score
I need to move the water supply, valve and head from one wall in a shower to the wall next to it. My house is 6 years old so I assume it is pex or copper. I have been getting quotes of 600-1000 dollars for the job. That seems ridiculous to me! Everything is exposed and there is full access in the attic. Maybe my expectations are wrong. What do you guys think? I am contemplating doing the work myself. Doesn't seem too complicated in the diy books I looked at but I have never done plumbing before. Any advice? Hire the pro or dive in?

Ian Gills

Senior Robin Hood Guy
Reaction score
The price seems reasonable compared to what I have paid for plumbing in the past on the East Coast: $2000 to replace a shower valve and tub drain.

I would not do this as a first DIY plumbing project, but if it can wait then I would attempt to "build up" to doing it myself. First, get some scrap pieces of pipe and learn how to solder. Then do some other small plumbing projects around the house to get some experience and confidence before taking this on. For example, get some practical experience with using teflon tape and pipe dope which you may need for installing the shower head. Or change a toilet.

Along the way you may want to find out if you can isolate the supply or not. This may mean turning off the water to your house completely. Any problems with this and I would definitely recommend you call a plumber. Most of my early DIY attempts were thwarted by having an old shut-off main valve to the house that did not turn off properly. I got a plumber to replace this before I did anything serious myself.

Being able to shut off your water effectively is your insurance should anything go wrong and will buy you time to call a plumber to come out and fix your mistakes.

I am also assuming by "full access" you mean no walls or tiles are in the way of what you are trying to do.

Last edited:

FloridaOrange