Drywalling - sand once, or after each coat?

Users who are viewing this thread

Fistor

Geotechnical Engineer
Reaction score
Hi -

This is probably a silly question, but I have seen differing opinions on drywall sanding... should drywall be sanded after each coat, or only once, after the final (2nd or 3rd) coat of mud?

Thnx!

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
If you're really good, yo umight not need to sand.

I try not to do much of this, so my experience may not be the greatest...I'd sand after each coat to expose any potential bubbles so you could fill them in next time. A wet sponge can be used if you don't use a setting type and is less messy.

Dgold

Avoid DIYer
Reaction score
I'm NOT good at finishing drywall, so if you're like me, here's what I've found works best:

I use setting type compound (20 or 30 minute I think). Invariably, I mix more than I need and try to get it fairly smooth with just the knife. Then I sand and do it again -- each time with a wider and wider knife.

Personally, I think the setting type compound is the greatest thing ever. Once you get the hang of mixing it, it really saves time, because it dries so fast and lets you keep moving. You can also take a blow dryer to it and it'll set even quicker.

As a landlord, it makes great spackle too, because by the time I've filled all the holes, everything is dry and ready to be painted.

Iminaquagmire

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
If you're asking this question, you'll probably be hard pressed to even be able to put second coat on without sanding first. I've done a lot of drywalling in my house and everytime I say I'm going to hire somebody. Everytime I end up doing it myself and doing a lot of sanding.