Why won't this connection SEAL?

Users who are viewing this thread

MJH78

Reaction score
Ok perhaps I'm an idiot here, but I'm a novice and...picture a standard shut off faucet for a washing machine. You attach the washer hose to the end of this faucet. Say I remove this hose and want to attach a 3/4 inch brass tee instead. I've got the Tee and it threads on nice and smooth, lots of pipe dope, very tight..but after 3 or 4 minutes it starts this slow drip. Is this connection not possible? Do I need an intermediate piece here? The Tee is because im connecting the washer hose to one split and tapping out a water line for an ice maker on the other. Everthing is nice and tight and working perfectly except where I have this Tee attached to the faucet. Thanks.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
The threads on a hose bib are straight and the seal is made by tightening it up against a washer to make the seal (the bottom of the hose fitting with the washer tightens on the end of the bib fitting); the threads just give you a means to tighten it up, they don't seal anything.

It's likely the T you installed was tapered pipe thread (rather than straight threads like on a bolt). These are designed to wedge themselves together with the small gap sealed by either pipe dope or teflon tape.

If you want to hook up more than one hose, you need a y or t designed to screw onto that hose type connection.

What are you planning to install?

MJH78

Reaction score