(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: lap top no power

  1. #1
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Default lap top no power

    I have an IBM think pad type 1871-22u ,battery dead,power cord works.
    Will not switch on,anyone have an idea.
    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2

    Default

    I guess you tried taking out the battery and just try using the power cable right? You probably did, but, I thought I would run it by you, just in case.

  3. #3

    Default

    Get a new battery
    [B]
    You Should Assume Everything I say Is A Complete Lie - Thank You ~

  4. #4

    Default

    That is probably right, and you got to know this, that would had been the last thing I would had thought of, lol. A new battery. Good reply.
    I am thinking internal dealings, parts, etc.

  5. #5
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plumbingskool View Post
    Get a new battery
    I have two lap top before this one that ran the power cord with a dead battery.
    It is a T43 and was a freebee just trying to see if I can fix something I have
    no buissiness working on,but I do like a challange.
    Thanks
    Clay

  6. #6
    Extreme DIY Homeowner Scuba_Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South of Boston, MA
    Posts
    885

    Default

    Some laptops will not work without a battery installed - dead or not, Weird - but I guess the contacts finish a circuit
    Possible some will not work without a working battery
    Or one of the contacts is messed up on the battery & the circuit is not complete
    DIY Handyman (not 4 hire)
    I have enough to do to my own house

  7. #7
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Default

    stupid machine is only 2 yrs old will look into new battery.
    on a site now trying to trouble shoot.
    Thanks again.

  8. #8

    Default

    Clay, what about a warranty? Do you have a warranty maybe, you forgot you had? I bought the warranty with my laptop and honesty, I would probably forget I had it. Plus, their was something else, I wanted to tell you, I can't remember...

    OH, I was talking to someone today whose computer is down too, and I said, " you know why you can't fix it?" He was laughing and I was laughing, he said, " yeah, because I don't know how." ha ha ha ha...

    I added, " well.... yeaaaaah, but also, cause you are over 50!" You need to be a kid to fix these things.

  9. #9
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Default

    Cookie,You can always make make me smile,but no warrenty and it is just
    something to play with when I get bored.

  10. #10
    Illinois Licensed Plumber SewerRatz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,705

    Default

    The IBM Think Pads can run with out the batteries. It is pretty common for where the power cord plugs into the laptop to break away from the motherboard.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  11. #11
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Default

    Thanks Ron will look into that,get to take it apart again yee haw.

  12. #12
    Illinois Licensed Plumber SewerRatz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,705

    Default

    Its a poor design on lots of laptops. The cord gets stressed at angles and breaks that part free, also seen where the inside connections in that block are just worn or bent in such a way it caused trouble as well.

    I have many of friends that bring me their broken electronics to fix for them.

  13. #13
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default

    It may have locked up in hibernation mode.

    Take the power cord out and take the battery out.

    Leave it a few minutes.

    Put the battery back in and put the power cord back in.

    Presto.

  14. #14
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian Gills View Post
    It may have locked up in hibernation mode.

    Take the power cord out and take the battery out.

    Leave it a few minutes.

    Put the battery back in and put the power cord back in.

    Presto.
    I tried that no luck.
    thanks for the reply.

  15. #15
    Master Plumber Redwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    7,463

    Default

    A 3 Lb. hammer properly applied can cure anything...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •