Reg Bath project

Users who are viewing this thread

reglilly

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm installing a shower and a jet tub, and have some plumbing questions -- I'm a fairly green plumber (done one shower so far).

First, I have a gabled wall, and I want to install the shower head on the red spot in the picture below. Can I just run a copper pipe up and connect it to the supply line, or does it need some sort of support for that run? Anything else I should watch out for?

Second, the other picture is of my shower drain. In my last shower project, Lonnie (who I hear hangs out in these parts) saved me from screwing up three times. Is this a real p-trap? And as I have to move it about 6" from the hole to center it, it looks like I'm going to run into some other pipe (don't know what it's for). Any suggestions about how to deal with this?

Third, the last picture is of the tub drain. The drain needs to be relocated near the opposite wall, and I can cut a hole to access it. But how do I tell which way the drain is running. I wouldn't want to put my trap on the wrong piece of pipe!

Thanks,
Reg

Attachments

• Shower head location.jpg
    Shower head location.jpg
    12.4 KB · Views: 249
  • P trap.jpg
    P trap.jpg
    15.1 KB · Views: 233
  • tub plumbing I.jpg
    tub plumbing I.jpg
    14.5 KB · Views: 220

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
plumbing

1. If it is for a shower arm it DOES need support, but you cannot just run it from a water pipe, you need a shower control valve.
2. It is a trap, and that is a water line, so if you are moving the trap you have to do it correctly, not just however it can be done.
3. Unless that is already a drain line to a trap, you may NOT be able to cut into it for your bathtub. And if it is to a trap, then the flow is FROM the trap to the drain system.