Fabricating A Header For Solar Collector WIthout Reducing T's

Users who are viewing this thread

Driz

Reaction score
I am making a couple solar collectors and no way am I paying that extortionist price for reducing T's for the header at the top. I have lots of experience with the torch and sweating ect. I want to drill and solder connect the 1/2" along the top to a 1" for the header. Can this be done using silver solder for the joint and a nice tight fit or am I farting into the wind here? I suppose regular 50/50 is out of the question for an application like this. What say ye, better than I plumber fabricators?

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
tees

IT will not work. To do that you would need a "Tee Turner" machine and that will cost a lot more than a bunch of reducing tees. You do not say what you will do about tees for the bottom manifold. And 1/2" copper is a poor choice because it has a very low surface area to volume ratio. What are you doing to increase the radiation absorbtion?

Driz

Reaction score
What I Am Thinking Is Similar To This

http://builditsolar.com/Experimental/CopperAlumCollector/Construction.htm

Something like this but shorter in length and more closely spaced together. For the fins I will use the same aluminum flashing as shown here. I see he just uses T's and half inch for the top and bottom and says it works well. Just what is the purpose of a larger lower and upper anyways, overheating? That isn't much of an issue where I live here in NY. Here all it serves is as a preheater only but every little bit helps. For a tank I scrounged a very nice stainless steel boiler fed 30 gallon cell in nice shape.

Scuba_Dave

Extreme DIY Homeowner
Reaction score
Website
holidaves.com
That's a nice link
I think I have seen something like that before
I almost think 1/2" feed & more 3/8" pipes would be better