Thermal Expantion Tank vs Thermal Expansion Relief Valve?

Users who are viewing this thread

Grayfeathers

Reaction score
The Water Works dept. has decided to redo our water mains and install new water meters with a duel-check backflow preventer. The Water Works dept. has requested that the private owner install, or should I say have a professional install a Thermal Expansion relief device. They have suggested either a TE Relief Ball Cock, a TE Tank or a TE Relief Valve. I need some opinions as to what is best to have installed. I'm not planning on being in my house much longer (trying to sell) but I want to make sure that what is installed is up to code and will do the job.

Thanks so much in advance.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
I'm not a pro so there are things I am not aware of. That said, the topic of thermal expansion comes up frequently on this forum. The only way I am familiar with is the thermal expansion tank as pictured in the previous post. These are used when the home has a closed system. A closed system is created when either a pressure regulator valve is installed or a meter with a check valve such as you describe. What happens is as we all know when water heats, it expands. If the system is open, the expansion is absorbed by the city water main. However, when the system is closed, there is no place for the expansion to go, so it will trip the T/P valve on the water heater. The thermal expansion tank is installed in the cold water intake between the PRV or check valve and the water heater. It is air charged to equal the house water pressure and will absorb this expansion. It is really a small volume of water that has to be absorbed, but with the tank, pressure in the water heater will rise rapidly and will exceed the 150 psi that the T/P is designed for. Installation is quite simple, it requires a tee in the cold water line to which the screw adapter is soldered. The tank screws on to the adapter. The tank does have to be very well suppo