Upstairs toilet flush draws from downtairs bowl

Users who are viewing this thread

tanber

Reaction score
After new toilet: flush pulls from other bowls

I just replaced a very old toilet in an upstairs bathroom with a new Kohler w/ Class Six. I've installed 5 other toilets, so I have some experience. I replaced it because it because it was leaking from the wax ring and since it was old (and blue), I just replaced the whole toilet while I was replacing the wax ring.

New toilet works fine, but after the installation, whenever any toilet in the house is flushed, water is pulled from the bowls of all the other toilets in the house (three toilets in house).

I have an Odor Hog air filter on the vent on the roof.

Last edited:

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score

Your problem may well be related to the vent. I have never seen a filter on a plumbing vent.....but if you have one and it is restricting air flow, that would be an issue. Maybe it is clogged.

Radon Contractor and Water Treatment
Reaction score
Website
www.78radon.com
Last year I had a vent problem that resulted in my sink gurgling when the commode was flushed. I never had a vent problem before and we recently took down a large white oak that overhung the house ... why was there a problem?
I went on the roof and shined my light down the stack ... looking up at me was the largest tree frog I ever saw in my life ... he made a nice nest in the L and he was apparently displaced from the tree removal.
Took out the shop vac and sucked him and his nest out ... problem fixed.
BTW, the frog was OK and I released him in the garden.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
That's pretty common with some of the new toilets.

I think more care is needed with some of the faster flushing toilets.
They drop 1.6 gallons in seconds.

The old toilets would take 20 seconds to drop two gallons, and then two minutes to slowly waste another three gallons.