(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: pressure tank installed correctly?

  1. #1
    DIY Member Woodenshoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    34

    Default pressure tank installed correctly?

    I have a shallow well with a 1 hp jetpump and a bladdertank for my house. A couple of years ago I had a new pump installed and he also put the pressure tank in a different spot. After that the pressure in the house was a little lower than usual. The pressure switch is 30/50 and pressure tank 28 psi.
    I will include some pictures, there is a softener but that is bypassed since I am replacing it.
    The filter you see is a Rusco sediment filter that I flush weekly since I have a little sand issue.

    Is the tank installed correctly??


  2. #2
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    There are far better sand filters that can remove sand without having to be messed with all the time.

    There is nothing wrong with the tank install that I can see. The problem I see is right here:
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by speedbump; 04-22-2009 at 10:06 AM. Reason: Move pic

  3. #3
    DIY Member Woodenshoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    34

    Default sand

    Quote Originally Posted by speedbump View Post
    There are far better sand filters that can remove sand without having to be messed with all the time.

    There is nothing wrong with the tank install that I can see. The problem I see is right here:

    It has been working now for a year or two, I had well guys coming over and they all said I need to drill a new well

    What kind of sandfilters are in your eyes better, do you have any examples or links?

  4. #4
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    I don't have a picture of one, but a simple water softener tank with a standard in and out head with silica sand in it, can remove the finest sand and won't need backwashing for months. A simple manual backwash manifold can be made cheaply enough. I have made lots of them.

    I simply have no use for in line filters like yours or the ten inch cartridge filters the big box stores like to call "Whole house filters" what a ruse. They cause more problems than they cure.

    Gary also sells a sand filter that I'm sure works quite well.

    bob...

  5. #5
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,790

    Default

    Do you actually find sand in that thing, it looks to be filled with rust to me.

    It's probably coming for the galvanized well you have, and any iron in the water.

    I don't like tanks plumbed like yours is. That's because as the water comes out and the pump comes on, the water has to swap directions, and it does it again when the pump shuts off and you're still using water. That can cause water hammer. I plumb tanks off a tee as the main water line goes past the tank.

    With the water line from the well going up and then down to the pump, if you need to prime the pump, you aren't going to be able to unless you cut the line at the high point, or raise the pump.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

  6. #6
    DIY Member Woodenshoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    34

    Default yes it does remove sand

    To answer your question, yes it does remove sand from my well.
    It has a stainless steel filter and works well.

    If I want something else besides a inline filter would this be a good alternative in combination with a softener?

    http://www.cleanwaterstore.com/sedim...ckwashing.html

  7. #7
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    It would do the same thing I'm telling you about except theirs has an automatic backwashing head where mine was manual. I offer the same thing only with a non electronic head.

    bob...

  8. #8
    DIY Member Woodenshoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    34

    Default manual

    Yeah but yours would probably be a lot cheaper without the clack on it

    The only problem I have right now is that I do not have a drain in my little well house.
    The drain from the old softener that was installed was just hanging outside the wellhouse and was discharging behind the wellhouse in the woods.

    Since both the softener and the filter would have a drain how would I create a drain? Do I need to find a way to connect to the drain from the house?

    Ron

  9. #9
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    Yes, you would have to have some sort of drain to backwash it either manually or automatically.

    Unless you have a lot of sand, an automatic unit would be kind of a waste.

    bob...

  10. #10
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,790

    Default

    Personally I wouldn't use a "sediment" filter for sand. My sand 'filter' is a patented blow down type tank that traps the sand from getting out and then once a month or as needed, you drain water out the bottom. It also traps sediment that is heavy enough to settle out of the water stream. It's also much less expensive and comes in two sizes, you would use the mini. For more info you have to call me. Beware of the guys at your link...

    For the rust I see in your spindown 'filter', you may need a special type softener.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •