(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Wiring GFIs together, is this code?

  1. #1

    Default Wiring GFIs together, is this code?

    Is this acceptable under NEC code? I understand it could be a nuissance if the GFI that is closer to the panel trips, the far end one will not have power either. But according to code, and as a general safety question, is this allowable?

    See attached picture for an explanation.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,401

    Default

    I don't know if it is code or not, but I think you are asking for LOTS of trouble. Press the test button of the first one in line, and you'll likely trip all of those downstream as well without realizing it. Wire downstream ones off of the line side, or don't use them at all, since they aren't necessary and cost more when you feed the downstream ones from the load side...just put the stickers on the recepticle covers and you're good to go.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  3. #3
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Jim you said that backwards. Trip the one on the end and all will trip from there to the panel but the first one will not trip out the end device.

    Judging from the looks of the drawing they are wanting to replace a regular receptacle at the end or last bathroom with a GFCI so they don’t have to run from one bath to the other to reset the GFCI.

    I agree that it would be better to wire the first one line in and line out.

  4. #4
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,401

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jwelectric View Post
    Jim you said that backwards. Trip the one on the end and all will trip from there to the panel but the first one will not trip out the end device.
    Wasn't sure if the small delay would be sensed in the downstream ones as well...in either case...not a great way to install them.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  5. #5
    Remodel Contractor GabeS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    294

    Default

    I thought that if he runs the downstream outlets off of the load side of the first GFI from the panel, then the whole line goes off. Didn't Jim have it right the first time? Please correct if wrong.

    Don't you hate it when you thought you knew something for a long time, but after years, you finally realize you were wrong all along.
    Gabe

    Don't follow my advice, I only know a thing or two about a thing or two.

  6. #6
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,401

    Default

    Two different points...I was talking about using the test button. Anything downstream from the tested gfci should be disconnected if the first one gets tripped. When you press the test button, you create a small 'leak' to ground calibrated to verify the protection circuits work. There is a slight delay. My thought was that this imbalance would also be felt downstream and all of them would trip, not just the one you were testing. Seems like it may cut off before the response time of the downstream ones can trip, but if you tested the end one, it would likely trip the first one as well.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  7. #7
    Remodel Contractor GabeS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Okay, but if you trip the first one, then that outlet shuts off right?

    And if that outlet is feeding the rest downstream, then they all shutoff. no? Unless I'm missing something here. This is assuming you are feeding the downstream outlets off of the load of the first GFI.
    Gabe

    Don't follow my advice, I only know a thing or two about a thing or two.

  8. #8
    In the Trades killavolt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Southington CT
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Why would you install GFCI receptacles downstream of a GFCI receptacle? Any devices downstream of a GFCI receptacle are protected if wired properly. Am I missing something here?

  9. #9
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,633

    Default Gfci

    WHY would you even consider it? If it is a single GFCI and it trips you just have to reset that one where you are. There is no need to daisy chain them, just connect all the LINE sides together, with nothing on the LOAD side. The only reason for daisy chaining outlets would be to have all of them protected by a single GFCI.

  10. #10
    Extreme DIY Homeowner Scuba_Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South of Boston, MA
    Posts
    885

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killavolt View Post
    Why would you install GFCI receptacles downstream of a GFCI receptacle? Any devices downstream of a GFCI receptacle are protected if wired properly. Am I missing something here?
    No, not really missing anything

    If you are supplying mutliple bathrooms its better to feed off the line & not the load side of the 1st GFCI. That way each GFCI trips independant & each bathroom outlet(s) can be reset from the GFCI in that bathroom

    I would never feed another GFCI outlet off the load side of a GFCI
    It's a waste of a GFCI
    DIY Handyman (not 4 hire)
    I have enough to do to my own house

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •