(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: To plug or not to plug into a GFCI outlet

Hybrid View

Default To plug or not to plug into a GFCI outlet

GFCI outlets are located throughout this house,other than the bathroom and kitchen.Is a PC, or stereo etc. protected if plugged into a GFCI outlet with or without a surge suppressor?

GCFI is not a surge protector for computers if that is your question.

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

A gfci is designed to prevent you from getting electrocuted if there's a fault in the wiring or device plugged into it. It measures the current on the power lead and compares it to the neutral...if they aren't the same, some leaked to a new ground, which might be you, then it shuts the power off.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

Default GFCI plug in or not/question rephrase

Is it a good idea to plug a PC,laptop,stereo etc. into a GFCI outlet?

Just as i have learned a refrigerator should not get a gfci outlet due to the potential food spoilage it can cause.Might it do similar with regards to a data loss/memory loss etc. with a PC/laptop?

It is not a good idea to plug a P/C into a GFCI,for the reasons you stated.
    If you do a battery backup system would help,it would also help in a
    power outage.

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

A properly operating electrical device should work in a gfci protected circuit...including a refrigerator. If it trips it, it has a problem and could kill you which is worse than losing some food from spoilage or having your computer shut off. Get the appliance fixed, verify the gfci is working properly, or replace them as required.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar