(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: New to Power Tools

Default New to Power Tools

Hi All!

I'm just learning how to do all this handyman stuff, so forgive me for asking stupid questions. Yesterday, I bought a Black & Decker circular saw off Craig's List for $10. The seller plugged it in, and it sounded like a circular saw to me, so I bought it. Today when I used it, the blade burned the wood. Is this normal? Am I doing something wrong, or maybe it needs a new blade?

Thanks,
    Joy

Flagstaff, AZ Sitting on an upside down 5 gallon bucket next to the GO 68HD

Could use a new blade but then again it's a black n decker. Low end of the spectrum on tool quality. IMHO.

A dull blade will advance slowly, or not at all, and burn the wood. So will not following a true straight line cut.

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

It also depends on what you are cutting and the type of blade installed...they are not all created equal for various tasks.

Ripping plywood, cross-cutting studs, ripping studs, rough cut verses fine cut will all have different shape and quantity of teeth and variations in the set (angles) of the teeth and the width of the kerf (sawcut), and the smoothness of the cut.

Trying to use a plywood blade with fine teeth to cut a stud will burn the wood. Using a rough cross-cut blade to cut plywood where you don't want splinters will create a mess...so, it could be normal for what you did, but it's probably a dull blade.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

Thanks all! I'll buy a new blade tomorrow and see if that doesn't do the trick.

Joy

Default saw

It is even possible he installed the blade backwards, but more likely just a dull blade.