What should I do with this ceiling.

Users who are viewing this thread

Cappy

Reaction score
I'm remodeling this house and I just knocked down the ugly popcorn ceiling thinking that I would just paint it. But now that the texture is gone I see a lot of imperfections in the drywall. I was thinking perhaps I should re-texture the ceiling before I paint to hide these imperfections.

Is this what I should do? Should I use a primer before texturing and/or before painting? And if I do texture, should I use a jointing compound and a sprayer? That's what I've done before, but I understand there are other ways.

Lots of questions, I know, but I'm fairly new to this.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
There are some textured paints you can use. Prepping a ceiling is hard work if you don't do it as a profession...working over your head is hard work! It can be done, but it needs to be done well.

This may have some benefit if the ceiling is below the attic - check out www.insuladd.com. It gets added to the paint and because it makes it thicker, it will hide some imperfections. You need two coats.

GabeS

Remodel Contractor
Reaction score
Cookie,

He said he already knocked it down. Your warning is too late. Now he's just going to worry that he just inhaled a ton of asbestos fibers.

You were probably better off not mentioning anything.

If that ceiling was built prior to the early 70's, then there's a good chance it could contain asbestos.:eek:

I still think that the whole thing is a scam anyway. I don't think a little asbestos here and there will cause long term harm. I think the problem is for the people who inhale a lot of it and inhale it often.

Cookie

Reaction score
gabe,