Polybutylene: Help buying manufactured home

Users who are viewing this thread

rchaney99

Reaction score
Hi,

We are in the process of buying a manufactured home that was built in 1996. It has never been moved, excepted when installed at the current location.

After looking around, I see it has poly plumbing with copper crimps. It is on well walter with a water softner.

Should I get it replaced? There is no sign of leaks anywhere. There is a slight buildup of white/blue minerals at the water heater where the poly connects, but that is all I can find. Ive been told if your on well water, poly pipes are fine since chlorine is the main culprit for poly failing.

Ive been reading around and says a complete renovation of the existing poly pipes require cutting into the walls. Is this true on a manufacted home that has a decent size crawl space?

Thanks for any help, I am completely new to this stuff!

SewerRatz

Illinois Licensed Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.a-archer.net
Hi,

We are in the process of buying a manufactured home that was built in 1996. It has never been moved, excepted when installed at the current location.

After looking around, I see it has poly plumbing with copper crimps. It is on well walter with a water softner.

Should I get it replaced? There is no sign of leaks anywhere. There is a slight buildup of white/blue minerals at the water heater where the poly connects, but that is all I can find. Ive been told if your on well water, poly pipes are fine since chlorine is the main culprit for poly failing.

Ive been reading around and says a complete renovation of the existing poly pipes require cutting into the walls. Is this true on a manufacted home that has a decent size crawl space?

Thanks for any help, I am completely new to this stuff!