(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Intermittent Intellivent/Powershot problems: gas HWH fails to stay on sometimes

  1. #1

    Default Intermittent Intellivent/Powershot problems: gas HWH fails to stay on sometimes

    We have a 25 month old A.O. Smith PowerShot. Works nicely. Most of the time.

    Sometimes, the LEDs on the front indicate "System in Lockout" (according to the manual). After a few resets, and/or a few hours, the problem fixes itself.

    The manual gives four possible reasons for the specific LED error code (error code 6): 1) Gas supply is too low, 2) hot surface ignitor not positioned correctly, 3) Low voltage to the water heater, and 4) electric polarity to unit is incorrect.

    We can power cycle the unit to clear the lockout state, and sometimes it fixes itself, but usually fails to stay on after three tries, then goes back into lockout. Each time it tries, I see the ignitor glow... I see the blue flame appear, but kind of a wavering flame (it's a low NOx burner, I think), and then the gas supply shuts off. When it gets into this state, it takes a few hours for it to recover. Eventually, things will work again.

    I checked the manual for the A.O. Powershot and the Intellivent Control Information document. The flowchart for Intellivent operation suggests that a failure at this point means it is not detecting flame. I see there are exact measurements for the position of the flame sensor, but I do not happen to have a caliper on me.

    I could understand that there might be a problem with the flame sensor, but why would it be sporadic? Why does it appear to get better after a few hours?

    Could the "waviness" of the flame indicate a dislodged flue adapter, as suggested in the IV troublshooting guide (the guide suggests this would suck the flame away from the flame sensor, leading to my problem)?

    BTW: we have a "Gas log" in our fireplace that works just fine, so I tend to trust the municipal supply

    Also, I tried tweaking the gas manifold pressure tap on the IV (the one on the bottom, nearest the flame... there was one on top but it would not budge, or else I am just a weak sissy). Loosening or tightening this screw did not change anything.

  2. #2
    Plumber Cass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,984

    Default

    Pull the burner assy. and clean the flame sensor...many times this is the problem...and yes a "wavey" flame could possibly cause it...

  3. #3
    Plunger/TurdPuncher kingsotall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Flagstaff, AZ Sitting on an upside down 5 gallon bucket next to the GO 68HD
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by browncow View Post
    Also, I tried tweaking the gas manifold pressure tap on the IV (the one on the bottom, nearest the flame... there was one on top but it would not budge, or else I am just a weak sissy). Loosening or tightening this screw did not change anything.
    While I am not siding with you on the "sissy" part, I would suggest leaving the control alone as then we are in need of a technician thats qualified.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cass View Post
    Pull the burner assy. and clean the flame sensor...many times this is the problem...and yes a "wavey" flame could possibly cause it...
    thank you, I will give that a try.

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member GrantK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    13

    Default Sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by Cass View Post
    Pull the burner assy. and clean the flame sensor...many times this is the problem...and yes a "wavey" flame could possibly cause it...
    Cass, thanks for the advice. I've got another question, the power vent motor on top of my unit will get very hot to the touch, hotter than I would think it should get. Is this normal? Can the motor being going (6+ years old) and cause a vent system code error? thanks...

  6. #6
    Homeowner Thatguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    1,460

    Default repair/replace

    This heater has lasted longer than 96% of gas WHs. Either it's great and you should keep it, or it's about to have "multiple organ failure".

  7. #7
    DIY Junior Member GrantK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    13

    Default Longevity

    Quote Originally Posted by Thatguy View Post
    This heater has lasted longer than 96% of gas WHs. Either it's great and you should keep it, or it's about to have "multiple organ failure".
    I'm confused, are you saying that 6 years is GOOD for a AO Smith Power Vent water heater?

  8. #8
    Master Plumber master plumber mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    indianapolis indiana - land of the free, home of the brave....
    Posts
    4,243
    Blog Entries
    1

    Talking Smiths are junk

    Quote Originally Posted by GrantK View Post
    I'm confused, are you saying that 6 years is GOOD for a AO Smith Power Vent water heater?
    all smiths are basically junk.

    especially their low quality power vent models...


    if it is only 25 months old, it will most likely nickle and dime you to death till the tank warrnanty runs out..

    I know of many folks that have puts hundreds into the units, to only see the tank expire and leak at 6 years a few month old.....

    beat them to the punch and just claim its leaking and get it changed out before you sink too much into it.

  9. #9
    Homeowner Thatguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    1,460

    Default

    Sorry. I read 25 yrs.
    It sounds like infant mortality.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bathtub_curve

  10. #10
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1

    Default

    We are having this same problem. The house is 3 1/2 years old. If you shut the switch off on the wall and turn it back on the heater works for maybe two days.

    We have had AB MAY come out in August and they said that the problem was a gas control valve replaced it. $700.00

    They came back out today and couldn't figure it out the guy replaced the vent still samething. Parts $9.00 Labor $300.00 $309.00

    This did not fix the problem so they called AO Smith and AO Smith gave them a checklist to go through. They called me and said it would be an additional $700 to go through the checklist.

    We have spent $1009.00 with AB May and they want another $700 to figure out what is wrong. I am at a loss I think we are more $$ into this than it is worth. What do you experts think?

  11. #11
    Master Plumber Redwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    7,463

    Default

    Clean the flame sensor!

  12. #12
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Mason dixon Line
    Posts
    1,150

    Default

    2 votes for cleaning the flame sensor.

  13. #13
    Homeowner Thatguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    1,460

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SavageCruiser View Post
    3 1/2 years old.
    $700.00

    $309.00

    and said it would be an additional $700 to go through the checklist.
    http://www.ripoffreport.com/

  14. #14
    DIY Junior Member Dan Roose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1

    Default This is how I fixed mine

    I have the exact same Hot Water heater mentioned in this thread and was experiencing the exact same problems described intermittent hot water error code 6 etc... I tried re-routing the electricity to its own breaker, replaced the starter and heating rod all to no avail. Today after reading this thread I decided to check my heating sensor to see if it was dirty. I noticed that it was not dirty but was not fully in the flame so I took it out and repositioned it to be within the flame. Ever since I have had hot water with no errors! I would recommend anyone with this very frustrating hot water heater do the same!

    Hope this helps!
    Last edited by Terry; 08-26-2011 at 10:23 AM.

  15. #15
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,374

    Default

    Sensors only work when they are: connected properly, relatively clean, and positioned where they are supposed to be to sense what they are designed for. Then, the device that reads and interprets them must also be connected and working. Some of this can be determined soley by good observation, but some takes some diagnostic knowledge and tools. But, the first thing is to read the instructions to try to understand what is supposed to be happening, then take a close look at things to see if there is anything obvious. Those two things often can resolve a problem.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •