Case 62-8 (5164) Ballcock problem

Users who are viewing this thread

Larbo

Reaction score
My 1927 home has a Case 6000 lowboy toilet with a Case 5164/ 62-8 ballcock assy. I have been servicing them (I actually have 2 old toilets) for many years but have become stumped over a probem. Lately, the toilet was having a problem with running slightly after it fills, so I changed the seat, the plunger rubber, and the ball (#252).

Now, the ballcock groans when it is first flushed, it softly moans when it shuts off and the ball drops too early (premature something-or-other :) ) so it cannot get a complete flush.

I tried adjusting the volume control but that, honestly, seems to do nothing. Angle stop is fully open. Everything is well lubed and is visually working as it should. I never have understood how the drop rate of the ball is controled but I think it has something to do with a diverter valve.

Anyway, does this scenario ring a bell? Thanks for you input, Lar

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
62-b

When I service them, I replace the entire plunger assembly, the seat, and the plastic disc. The stem may be getting corroded and tight so it does not open rapidly. The ball controls the diverter valve, not the other way around. If you have the tank ball with the loop that the handle goes through, then if the handle drops too quickly, it could push the ball closed.

Larbo

Reaction score
Hi hj, thanks for the observations.

If you have the tank ball with the loop that the handle goes through, then if the handle drops too quickly, it could push the ball closed.