Window in shower: remove frame or not (advice needed ASAP)

Users who are viewing this thread

sonyah

Reaction score
Hello all...
Working on a bathroom remodel, and need advice ASAP (before tomorrow morning).

Just finished installing the tile (protective paper still on), but haven't started grout yet. We have a big window in the wall of the shower... but we couldn't get out of that.

Should we leave the white wooden window frame in and seal it off to protect the wood? Or is it better to remove the frame, and put up dry wall and tile around it?

My thinking is that removing the wood frame completely will be better to avoid wood rot, but that it might look ugly to not have a frame and to just have a drop off from glass tile to the window.

So, what do you think? If this were your bathroom, what would you do?

thanks,
Sonya

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
First, I'm not a pro...you're asking for big problems with the window as it is now in the shower. It will be impossible to keep spray from keeping things wet,and likely rotting. Water will be able to get into the wall and mess things up there, too. Your best bet woudl be to tear the window out and put in glass block; then you'd be able to keep the light, but make it waterproof. Hassle is, you can't cut glass block, so you'd be lucky to make an exact fit with the opening you have - you might have to modify the opening slightly. I suggest you post this over on www.johnbridge.com you may get some other suggestions. That site specializes almost exclusively on tiling. It's very worthwhile.

sonyah

Reaction score
If we leave the wooden frame in, we'll definitely seal it up well (I've read up a bit on how to do this right)... but I'm still wondering how it looks overall. Better with or without frame?

thanks again,
Sonya

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com