How to tighten a lose bath spout knob?

Users who are viewing this thread

IcedWater

Reaction score
Hello All,

I am a newbie that would be grateful for any help you kind folks could give me. My bath spout knob is loose. I am unable to take a shower, as there is no water coming out of the shower, although it does come out of the spout / tap. The bath tub set up includes a knob that you pull up to divert water to the shower and push down to stop the shower and divert the water to the spout tap. The problem is that the knob that you see on the pictures is loose. When I pull it up to take a shower, it just slides right back down, so no shower!

I am attaching pictures of the bath spout, to better explain this set up.

How can I fix this? Please help me.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• SPOUT.jpg
    SPOUT.jpg
    67.6 KB · Views: 2,255
  • SPOUT-1.jpg
    SPOUT-1.jpg
    1.5 KB · Views: 2,004

Kingsotall

Plunger/TurdPuncher
Reaction score
Yup, there is no tightening. If there aren't any screws holding spout on it will turn (rightey tighty, lefty loosey) A pliers handle in the spout opening will help loosen it.

chaoster

Reaction score
I have the same problem with my tub spout. Every two to three years I need a new spout. How long are they suppose to last. Is there a better solution?

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
diverter

Would it upset you if I said that was probably the dumbest suggestion I have heard in a long time. IT would only be economically feasible if they were remodeling the bath, and even then it is not the most elegant solution for a simple tub.shower. A permanent repair would be to replace that generic diverter spout with the Delta pull down diverter.

SewerRatz

Illinois Licensed Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.a-archer.net