(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Double poll switch

  1. #1
    Retired tool & Die and Mechanic Giles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    N.W. Alabama--Florence--
    Posts
    110

    Default Double poll switch

    I have an old, probably 1970s, Dewalt 740 radial arm saw. My on-off switch went bad and I was surprised to find out it is a double poll switch. This switch is not available, so I plan to use a double poll switch for replacement. This is 110v application.
    Out of curisoty, why are both the neutral and the hot broken in this application?

  2. #2
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,382

    Default

    Most of the motors used on those tools can be rewired to run on 220vac, so you'd then HAVE to break both leads to remove all power. This is done by moving jumpers in the motor assembly, then replacing the plug or power cord.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  3. #3
    Retired tool & Die and Mechanic Giles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    N.W. Alabama--Florence--
    Posts
    110

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jadnashua View Post
    Most of the motors used on those tools can be rewired to run on 220vac, so you'd then HAVE to break both leads to remove all power. This is done by moving jumpers in the motor assembly, then replacing the plug or power cord.
    Thanks---I now understand and that makes sense.

  4. #4
    Retired tool & Die and Mechanic Giles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    N.W. Alabama--Florence--
    Posts
    110

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jadnashua View Post
    Most of the motors used on those tools can be rewired to run on 220vac, so you'd then HAVE to break both leads to remove all power. This is done by moving jumpers in the motor assembly, then replacing the plug or power cord.
    Upon investigaton for replacing the factory switch with a double poll switch, it was discovered that extensive modification will be necessary for a neat application. A single poll switch would be much simpler. It makes sense to me that a single poll switch could serve the purpose of breaking the hot and I could connect the two neutrals. I know this would not work for 220v.
    Would this be advisable?

  5. #5
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,382

    Default

    You'd lose the UL certification. If someone tried to change it to 220vac operation, they could be injured. If it generated a fire or injury, your insurance may not pay. Proceed at your own risk.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  6. #6
    Retired tool & Die and Mechanic Giles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    N.W. Alabama--Florence--
    Posts
    110

    Default

    Thanks, I will use the double poll

  7. #7
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,605

    Default two pole

    Check the motor plate to see if it is a 120/240 motor. If not then the reason for a two pole switch would be acedemic.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •