(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: How quiet is a Rinnai tankless, *really*?

Hybrid View

Default How quiet is a Rinnai tankless, *really*?

I'm considering the purchase of multiple Rinnai tankless hot water heaters for a remodelling project where maintaining quiet is one of the design objectives. Rinnai claims its tankless units are quiet, and claims a noise level of 49 db(a) across its range of tankless models--see attached. However, when I look at the Bosch noise level data, it claims a range of 45 to 65 db(a). i.e. a 100x difference in possible sound pressure levels, depending on...? I have no direct experience with either brand, but I suspect the Bosch numbers are more "honest" for common sense reasons: it makes sense that the direct-vent blower on the tankless would make less noise when it is consuming its minimum 19,900 BTU's than when it is burning it's maximum 199,000 BTU's. I therefore suspect that Rinnai's 49 db(a) noise rating is marketing spin and reflects the noise level at the lowest end of its range.

FWIW, I did contact the local distributor for Rinnai, and he was useless.

I've come here to get the facts from anyone with actual experience or knowledge of Rinnai units. I can design the soundproofing plan accordingly if I know what I'm dealing with. I can't be shooting in the dark only to find out my assumption is off by 100x because of sleazy advertising!

David
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by dimprov; 02-22-2009 at 06:59 PM.

For instance, Eternal gives the "maximum noise" for it's different models, although it's ambiguous as to whether Eternal's db refers to db(a) or some other reference.

Ideally, I'd like to see the SPL's at different frequencies so I could pick the most appropriate soundproofing materials, but I'm not too hopeful of finding that information, unless someone here has done their own measurements at a 1 meter distance that they're willing to post.

David