(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: Frozen Forced Air Furnace?

Default Frozen Forced Air Furnace?

Hi,

Can a Forced Air Furnace be damaged by freezing conditions? I'm considering a place where the furnace was exposed to freezing and I am wondering what could be damaged with it.

Thanks for any replies
    Last edited by molo; 02-16-2009 at 07:46 PM.
    "Any American who is prepared to run for President should automatically, by definition, be disqualified from ever doing so."
    Gore Vidal.

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

Unless it has a humidifer in it, probably not.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

If it is high efficiency with condensate discharge, you may need to heat tape the discharge.

Quote Originally Posted by PEW View Post
    If it is high efficiency with condensate discharge, you may need to heat tape the discharge.
    Or you might have to replace a tray or tube if it's let to freeze with water in the tray or tube. That would be a relatively cheep repair.
    Important note Ė I donít know man made laws, just laws of physics
    Disclaimer: I'm a big fan of Darwin awards.

Quote Originally Posted by Bill Arden View Post
    Or you might have to replace a tray or tube if it's let to freeze with water in the tray or tube. That would be a relatively cheep repair.

Unless the unit is in the attic and the pipe breaks away from the tray...... Been there done that.

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar